Thought For The Day 11/18/13

Standard

The Wise Man and The Foolish Man

Post # 976

___

HouseOnSand_8x11_lores

___

The mistakes of the fool are known to the world, but not to himself. The mistakes of the wise man are known to himself, but not to the world.

Charles Caleb Colton

http://www.quotesandsayings.com/gwisefool.htm

___

I think I have been drawn to children and children’s ministry since I first taught Sunday School as a young adult. And while I was not the best role model for my own children as they were growing up, I did try to instill faith into their hearts in my own way, before we began going to church as a family when they were in grade school.

___

Now part of this was because of the division of faith in my family. You see I was a Protestant who married a Catholic, and when we went for instruction in Dan’s Parrish before we married, I made promises to the priest that I could not break. But since Dan had chosen his own pathway to God, and it was a road that did not include attending services,  and feeling bound by promises made, I did not take them anywhere. However, after realizing that someone needed to take a stand, I decided it needed to be me, and away we went to a church that made a huge impact in my life…..at least for a while…..an explanation of which I will leave for another day!

___

Now in some ways, my return to faith also came about because of another little child. Simply put, I didn’t like the example I was setting for a tiny red-headed dynamo that came into my life in early 2010. You see, I felt His call to me when my grandson was about a year old and we were dealing with developmental delays. And since I provided all of Landon’s care for the first 15 months of his life, I tried to do creative and stimulating things to help him master some fine and gross motor skills. Which is what happened when I began singing to him a song from my own childhood about a wise man and a foolish man and where they chose to build their homes. And what was born was my “Thought” from 01/15/12.

___

Thought For The Day 01/15/12

___

There was a song that I loved to sing when I was in Sunday School back when dinosaurs roamed the earth. Now I probably liked it so much because it was so very animated in that it incorporated body movement along with the words. And, for some reason, it seems to be those songs that I remember the most clearly all these years later. However, when examining and thinking about the words, I think that even more than that which is to be seen on the surface of the thing, are other less tangible concepts. They are to be found in the message hidden just beneath the obvious, common sense part, of the song….the message that we all must live lives rooted on a foundation of stone (or rock). It was a message that I couldn’t appreciate back then, when I was little, but, none-the-less, it is a message I surely do appreciate today!

 

It is a message of simple choices that, when made correctly, guarantee us a long and happy life. Just think about the simple decision of where we choose to live and work. Those decisions remain much more practical, safe and prosperous for us, when we choose a safe place to build that house or select an established business or occupation for which we receive the appropriate training, when we choose that career that will provide us with the means to support the life and lifestyle we choose for ourselves!  We would, indeed prove to be foolish if we were to build a wooden house complete with its foundation, smack dab in the middle of a river. Nor would we choose to perform neurosurgery on someone when our training was in teaching kindergarten children.

 

And yet, all too many choose to live their lives without that foundation of faith as a support for us as we travel our path in life. Certainly it’s easy to see that the sand  represents all those things in our lives that are weak or false….from motivations to our philosophies. And what is our recourse when the storms of life descend on us and we find that our house, and lives, are built and lived on sand? How do we respond to those challenges? Is our house on sand going to get picked up only to fall and crash all around us until nothing remains but the broken remnants of our dreams?

Just as the lyrics of John Wetton’s beautiful song states, we’ll “…never stand alone,” if we “have the foundation of stone” that faith in God provides to us. In this metaphor of the two houses, we are told that we have a choice that none of us can avoid making in our lives. We will either build our lives on him, the Word of God, or we will build our lives on something that has no hope of supporting us through the trials we all will face. The choice is ours!

___

The Wise Man Built His House

 

The wise man built his house upon the rock.
The wise man built his house upon the rock.
The wise man built his house upon the rock.
And the rains came tumbling down!

Chorus:

The rains came down And the floods came up.
The rains came down And the floods came up.
The rains came downAnd the floods came up,
And the house on the rock stood firm. 

The foolish man built his house upon the sand.
The foolish man built his house upon the sand.
The foolish man built his house upon the sand,
And the rains came tumbling down! 

Chorus:

The rains came down and the floods came up.
The rains came down and the floods came up.
The rains came down And the floods came up,
And the foolish man’s house went “splat!” 

So, build your house on the Lord Jesus Christ.
So, build your house on the Lord Jesus Christ.
So, build your house on the Lord Jesus Christ.
And the blessings will come down! 

2nd Chorus:

The blessings come down as the prayers go up.
The blessings come down as the prayers go up.
The blessings come down as the prayers go up,
So build your house on the Lord.

___

To view the YouTube video, click the arrow in the screen below!

___

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.”

Matthew 7:24-26 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

