Thought For The Day 12/02/13

Standard

A Pair Of Brown Shoes

Post # 990

___

allen-edmond-brown-oxford-shoes

___

Move out of your comfort zone. You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new. 

Brian Tracy

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/uncomfortable.html

___

Early in my writings I so often found myself just a little bit like a fish out of water. I had passed through the infancy of my self discovery of the Almighty but I had not yet passed into adulthood. Yes, I was the gangly teen, struggling with my self-identity and definitely struggling with the fear that what I was trying to share might not be enough. But it was then I remembered something. The ceiling of the Sistine Chapel was most certainly not  Michelangelo’s  first attempt at creating a masterpiece. And while I do not equate my feeble efforts in any way with this Italian genius, I do know that there was likely a time when he looked at the canvas and wondered if it was enough.

___

It was this questioning and answering and surviving through the doubts that led to the throwback “Thought” I am sharing with you, which was written almost exactly two years ago, today! As like many posts I wrote then, this has less Biblical teaching contained within, but it is filled with the spirit that touched my heart and started my feet on this path!

Mandy

___

Thought For The Day 12/03/11

One of the most brilliant quotes ever attributed to a comedian has to be a “pearl of wisdom” uttered by George Gobel in the early 70’s, when, appearing on the Tonight Show, and flanked by Dean Martin, Bob Hope and, of course, Johnny Carson,  said….”do you ever feel like the world is a tuxedo and you’re a pair of brown shoes?” That one simple phrase, which re-launched the career of this man somehow seemed to, in a second, forever change the definition of the words unassuming and self-effacing!

That phrase seems to describe me more often than I would like and I might even be tempted to add that not only am I the one wearing the brown shoes but with white tube socks with those colored stripes ringing the top, just lending themselves to the current  word of the 2000’s, “cankles”!

Now I don’t think I feel this way because I don’t “clean up” quite nicely, when the occasion calls for it, but that I am more probably the person for whom sweat suits and flip-flops were designed to adorn. I am down to earth, and casual …. the one person for whom the day Casual Friday seems to have been invented.

I am often uncomfortable when in a more formal setting where I am apt to be surrounded by the rich and powerful. I can usually hold my own, but it’s just not the place I like to be. But give me a bar stool in the local “juke joint” and I can not just hold my own, but probably talk a few others there into joining me in some favorite cause! In all truthfulness, I’m betting that most of the special band of brothers and sisters I work with feel pretty much the same way! The grass-roots way of spreading His message!

Remind you of anyone else? Somebody whose birthday is nearing? Now I am not trying to equate either myself or my “compadres” with Jesus except to say that most of us seem to achieve the greatest joy by working with those for whom the everyday challenges seem to somehow divide them from many of their peers ….. those some might call “the down trodden”. And this is just fine with me. This is the way God made me. I am content! I am happy! I am lucky to have to been so blessed!

___

 “Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?”

Luke 12:27-28 NLT

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

