Thought For The Day 12/03/13

Standard

Our Dreams

Post # 991

___

Dreaming (1)

___

Our dreams disturb us because they refuse to pander to our fondest notions of ourselves. The closer one looks, the more they seem to insist upon a challenging proposition: You must live truthfully. Right now. And always. Few forces in life present, with an equal sense of inevitability, the bare-knuckle facts of who we are, and the demands of what we might become.

Marc Ian Barasch

http://izquotes.com/quote/293876

___

Sometimes our dreams are so much more than ethereal wisps of the emotions and experiences from our waking times that become re-visited during our sleeping hours. Sometimes they are a gentle nudge or a finger, pointing us in the direction our moral compass is asking us to seek. I prefer to think of it as the hand of the Almighty putting our feet on the path He has designed for our lives. But whatever you believe them to be, it is important that you consider what it is they are trying to tell you. Does it mean that you must heed what they say? No!But I believe you should always consider their merit as part of the global planning for your lives. They were, after all, placed in your head for a reason!

This throwback “Thought” is another from 2011 when my heart was following a more philosophical direction as I was discovering the path He was designing just for me. But I have come to learn that He never makes a mistake, as much as our human heart might want to believe it to be otherwise. And without those early days…..and “Thoughts”….. I would not be where I find myself today!

___

Thought For The Day 12/08/11

I know that I dream and that I seldom remember them unless they are of some profound issue such as my dream of the murder of my friend on my college campus and of her somehow urging me to release the pent-up anger I had within, to forgive her murderer, even after all these years. But mostly my dreams are just beyond my reach, seeming to vanish into nothingness in the morning light just as the morning fog dissipates when touched by the sun!

This is the same way my creative ideas and thoughts seem to behave. I know they are there. I have often thought of some profound thing I need to share, and then it’s gone, as if some kidnapper has invaded my mind. But sometimes, when I least expect it, they return. And I never understand the trigger that causes me to bring them forth and give them a life once more. I have paid no ransom for their return but perhaps its some reward I’m being blessed with.

The one thing I am certain of is that our thoughts as well as our dreams have great meaning for our lives. But only if we pay attention to them and then somehow apply them to our actions during our waking moments.

Do you ever find that those thoughts or dreams that you have, whether negative or positive, help to define whether you will be surrounded by either chaos or serenity during your day? And if you are a person for whom the subtleties of metaphysical thought is attractive, you might just say that your thoughts and dreams are the things that create your reality. However, we also have within us a foundation of beliefs that we generally apply to our thoughts which somehow help in transforming them into the actions by which we go about our day.

That foundation of beliefs, our faith, is that learned part of us that somehow, without us ever realizing it, becomes imbedded within our soul. It lays there ….. still and quiet ….. until the time when our thoughts and dreams (perhaps God’s whisper?) somehow bid it to come forth and add color and substance to those thoughts as we prepare to give birth to them, and transform them into our actions.

Our faith is the road map for the actions we take and while our thoughts and dreams may define the route we travel, it is our faith that calls out to us to stop along the way, to pause and to act.

___

“For God does speak—now one way, now another— though no one perceives it. In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they slumber in their beds, he may speak in their ears and terrify them with warnings, to turn them from wrongdoing and keep them from pride, to preserve them from the pit,  their lives from perishing by the sword.”

Job 33:14-19 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

