Thought For The Day 12/04/13

Standard

From That Moment We Were A Family

Post # 992

 

___

521985_4657504646841_2061925474_n

A Happy Day!

June 7th, 1975

___

A great marriage is not when the ‘perfect couple’ come together. It is when an imperfect couple learns to enjoy their differences.

Dave Meurer

http://quotations.about.com/od/marriagequotes/a/quotesaboutmarriage.htm

___

Forgive me for waxing nostalgic today but for you who know me on Facebook know my hubby is sick and going into the hospital today. And while I have faith that he will be fine, still, I am remembering the history that led me to the one man that God chose especially for me. And so I have chosen a special post I wrote as we celebrated an anniversary not long ago….our 38th anniversary. An added bonus is the beautiful song a friend of mine once wrote for the wedding of another friend of his, and which he has been glad to share with me….and you on YouTube!

Mandy

___

 

Thought For The Day 06/07/13

Today Dan and I celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary, and a question I am often asked is to explain the secret to the longevity of our relationship. Now my first inclination is to say that it has to be the four wonderful role models who were responsible for setting the example whereby we have patterned our own behaviors. But even the successful marriages of parents certainly does not guarantee the success of our own. In fact there is NO magic formula that will help to produce a long and happy relationship. No, we need, instead, to think outside of the box and ask a very different question. We are better served asking, what are the things that can divide us and break up the home?

No one ever intends that their relationship go up in flames, but flame away they do….and all too often, these days. And whether or not they are a truly a Christian union is no more a guarantee of happiness and longevity, that any other ideal we might envision. You see, like it or not, a relationship is a careful blending of 2 very divergent and complex personalities, each one shaped by the unique life experiences that come from the unique family dynamic that bore and reared them!

They say that what makes a relationship a Christian one is that we work together to restore the one thing that was lost by the two whose sin changed everything for mankind for thousands of years! Through our working to make ourselves the best we can be, we are striving to extend the intimacy of our co-joined hearts with God’s heart. And that is the single greatest component that keeps propelling us through the minefield of the things that seek to insinuate themselves between each of us and the one we have chosen as our life partner. Lack of trust, not carving out time in our busy schedules to share quality moments together, and being dishonest come to mind first to me. And for my money, these are all pieces of the infection that kill a relationship because they are more toxic to love than nearly anything else I can think of!

Does being madly and passionately in love count? Perhaps….but only until the million other little things we cling to as days turn into months…then years…then decades together, kick in! So what is the secret? Perhaps it’s being madly, passionately in like, not love! And yet, from the moment we made promises to each other in front of our family, friends, and God, there would never be another for either of us….at least while the other still drew breath. And for good or bad, it is that promise which is the tie that binds our hearts, today, just as it was that united them on June 7th, 1975!

___

“FROM THIS MOMENT”

Here we bow, true love confessing…

In the presence of those we hold dear…

Asking now for heaven’s blessing…

For wisdom to see us through the years…

In this holy place, by the Father’s grace and power…

You and I, in an instant become one…

A miracle by a kiss secured this hour…

A bond that’ll never be undone…

~

Chorus:

From this moment we are a family, I pledge myself to thee, the rest of my life…

And I know heaven’s smiling on you and me… Binding us together, man and wife!

~

Hand in hand our heart’s united…

We face tomorrow, our dreams now in view…

Golden bands and vows recited…

Reminders of all I promise you…

I will cherish you, I will honor you forever…

I’ll be here to share your joys and ease your pain…

And where you go, be it calm or stormy weather…

By your side I am home, here I’ll remain…

~

Chorus:

From this moment we are a family, I pledge myself to thee, the rest of my life…

And I know Heaven’s smiling on you and me… Binding us together, man and wife!

~

From this moment…

From this moment…

From this moment…

Music, lyrics and vocals by Michael Fawcett

___

___

And I will betroth you to me forever. I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and in mercy.

Hosea 2:19

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry
Applies only to the parts of the post herein that contain my original thoughts and words.

“From This Moment” Copyright © 1997 Michael Fawcett , used with permission.

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

