Thought For The Day 12/10/13

Standard

Recipe For Happiness

Post # 998

___

recipe

___

We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink, for dining alone is leading the life of a lion or a wolf.

Epicurus

http://thinkexist.com/quotation/we_should_look_for_someone_to_eat_and_drink_with/162336.html

&

May the love that is in my heart pass from my hand to yours. For food that stays our hunger, For rest that brings us ease, For homes where memories linger, We give our thanks for these

Unknown

http://www.wallpraise.com/bibleverseskitchen.html

___

The inspiration for this post was courtesy of a friend, and my thanks are owed to, Karen, who posted the following quote to her Facebook profile in January, 2012.You see, that is what God’s nudge does for someone, if you take the time to be still, listen and be guided by it. So here is our throwback “Thought for today!

___

Thought For The Day 01/18/12

Prepare your day like you prepare a cake.

Start with a smile, a spoonful of love, a cupful of enthusiasm and happy thought!

A winning recipe for a Yummy Day!

___

I sometimes forget that our happiness every day is the result of a delicate balance of many different ingredients which, when gathered together, measured carefully, and mixed (usually with a gentle hand), are the recipe we need to not just live our lives as human beings, but as people of faith, as well.

Now not every person’s recipe is the same. As a matter of fact, they are probably as varied as are the recipes in any cookbook. But there are usually basic ingredients which appear time and time again in all of our recipes for living a happy life. And for me, God must be the primary ingredient in my recipe because it is He that serves as my personal binding ingredient that somehow causes all the rest of the ingredients I am adding to the mix, to come together in that culinary masterpiece of happiness that I try to create each and every day.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am not saying that all of my attempts at recipes are a success. Just ask my husband. I can cook, and if waist-lines are any indication of my success in that avenue, then Emeril and Bobby Flay better move over! But I can not bake….no matter how hard I try. I once made a homemade chocolate birthday cake that was, quite literally, a chocolate birthday pancake that probably could have been used as an Olympic discus! And that is how it is with those happiness recipes.

Sometimes the trials of human nature seem to change the oven temperature just enough so that what you are trying to create either comes out burned to a crisp or ends up a wet and soggy glob. But, even when those hiccups happen, it is important that we continue on to another moment or day, and begin the process all over again. What we will discover is that, more often than not, those recipes for happiness will turn out to be just perfect…..with a little practice and a lot of patience!!!!!

___

“And he took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.””

Luke 22:19 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

