Thought For The Day 12/14/13

Standard

Waiting For The Next Shoe To Drop

Post # 1002

___

shoesdropping

___

All of us have bad luck and good luck. The man who persists through the bad luck – who keeps right on going – is the man who is there when the good luck comes – and is ready to receive it.”

Robert Collier
(American motivational author, 1885-1950)

http://thinkexist.com/quotes/with/keyword/bad_luck/

___

2013 has been a year for the record books in our family…..and not necessarily in a good way. In late February, a surgery led to complications which happened in March. Another surgery in early March led to complications later in the month. And then the complications that that happened in early March from surgery number 1, led to more complications in late April and early May. Etc, etc, etc! I really don’t need to continue. You all get the picture.

___

Yes, never before in my life have I ever found myself waiting for the next shoe to drop, like I did in throughout 2013. And drop they did…..over and over and over again. But something miraculous happened in the process. I discovered an inner fortitude that I never knew was hidden there. AND, I found myself trusting and relying on my faith, more and more every day. You see, I remembered something that you all know. The saying, “If He leads you to it, He will lead you through it” took on a new meaning for me and my family. And despite a few lapses and more than a few days that I was scared out of my mind, I always returned to one thought. He will lead us through this trial!

___

Philippians 4:6-7 ESV, reminds us of this so beautifully! “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” And of course, the Gospel of Matthew perhaps caused this idea to take root and bloom beautifully, through this passage from Matthew 19:26 ESV, “But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.””

___

Our faith teaches us that no matter the fires we face, if we turn our fears over to Him, he will provide us comfort and ease our hearts and minds. And I can say with the certainty of one who has walked through those fires, that this is absolutely, positively true. The moments I sat quietly, and closed my eyes and just looked to Him to know what was in my heart, I found a peace wash over me….and I knew I was prepared for that next shoe to drop, because drop they will. But as much as they drop, we are given the armor of faith to deflect them. You see, we never make this journey on life’s road. alone!

___

“I had said in my alarm, “I am cut off from your sight.” But you heard the voice of my pleas for mercy when I cried to you for help.”

 

Psalm 31:22 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

