Thought For The Day 12/31/13

Standard

Fair Weather Faithful

Post 1019

___

fair weather friends

___

Fair weather friends only want to come around when they need your sun to shine on their dark and gloomy days.

Author Unknown

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Fair_Weather_Friend/

___

I was thinking the other day about what I term “Fair Weather Fans”. You see. I am a fan of an NFL football team that performed rather poorly this season. In fact, poor doesn’t even begin to cover it. And yet they are “My Guys”….. and win or lose, I proudly wear my team T-shirt every single week that they play! Do I meet and greet some that giggle and point their fingers? Oh, you betcha. Does it matter an iota to me? NOPE! Because, being a supporter of something important to you means that you are there for them…supporting them, and rooting for them…. rain or shine, win or lose! And our faith is exactly the same thing!

___

There are so many people that appear in church, week after week, loudly announcing their presence and proclaiming for all to hear their good deeds. These are among those that I refer to as “Fair Weather Faithful”. You see, it’s easy to make people think that you are good and kind and care for your fellow man when you are in the confines of a building. It’s a lot harder to live a life that is good and kind and one that cares for your fellow man in the quiet of your own being.

___

Paying “Lip Service” to your faith means NOTHING! It’s our heart that must withstand an inspection from the Almighty, and what we give to our fellow man, that really measures the depth of our faith! Yes, living by faith is this: “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1 ESV, AND it is this: “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him! “In everything, therefore, treat people the same way you want them to treat you, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” Matthew 7:11-12 NIV.

___

As long as you can read these verses and say honestly to yourself….. “YES! That’s me! I care. I do! I believe!”, then you are most definitely not among those “Fair Weather Faithful” people we tend to see every Sunday, sitting in the front row of the sanctuary!

___

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.  And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

““Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.””

Matthew 25:31-46 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

