Thought For The Day 01/02/13

Standard

Rising From The Ashes

Post 1021

___

Chinese-Phoenix4

___

Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise 
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise

Maya Angelou

http://quotes.dictionary.com/search/rise+from+the+ashes?page=1

___

Any one here who has seen any of the numerous movies about the young wizard whose mission it is to defeat one of great evil, is likely familiar with the Phoenix and the legend associated with it. But just in case you are not, I’ll try to summarize it for you.

___

The Phoenix is a bird associated with the sun, who is cyclically reborn, rising from the ashes of the fire that has just consumed him. The thing is that some early Christians recognized the significance of this bird because its symbolized renewal was likened to the consecration and resurrection identified with the exceptional life, death and resurrection of Christ.

___

Now whatever your view of the matter (yes, some may cry heresy!!!), I still think there is a lesson to be learned in thinking about the life…..and death…..and life again of this bird and the promises afforded by God through the life, the sacrifice and the resurrection of His son.

___

According to some, the sacrificial death of the Son, proves some absolutes about who Christ was. Some of these include the following truisms that I agree with:

  • That He is divine. After all, it was not His death that proves this to us, but it is his resurrection that does.
  • That He has the power to forgive our sin. You see, were it not for His arising which guaranteed eternal life by shattering sin’s bond on the human heart and soul, we would not be washed clean of our sins.
  • That by His resurrection, we need never again fear Satan’s power over us, as long as we commit our hearts and our lives to Him and to His service. You see, it was His resurrection that shattered this bond Satan placed on man during the temptation in the Garden!

___

Now it has long been held that fire can purify things. And I suppose this comes from seeing  all of those flaws and imperfections of a thing somehow disappearing in the flames as it is consumed, which is exactly why gold is purified by fire. And I suppose that is why I hold that faith is like these flames. You see turning our hearts over to Him and accepting a new way of thinking that aligns itself with God’s will, promises us that we need not fear the terrors that stalk our dreams. We are purified just as gold is, and when our living is to be no more, we will, like the Phoenix, arise into eternal life, more beautiful than we ever were while we were wearing our human form.

___

Yes, some will be consumed by the fires that await us in death. But I believe it will be those whose hearts, while among the living, chose not to embrace faith…..chose not to drink in His word or to partake of His promises. And I suspect that they are also the ones who know, deep in the recesses of their hearts, that their failing will be their undoing. But it is never too late. For you. For me. For us all. It is never too late to turn over a new leaf or to take that leap of faith straight INTO a life of faith! All we need do is ask!

___

 In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

1 Peter 1:6-7 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

