Thought For The Day 01/03/14

Standard

Faith And Trust

Post 1022

___

-faith

___

Faith is a grand cathedral, with divinely pictured windows – standing without, you can see no glory, nor can imagine any, but standing within every ray of light reveals a harmony of unspeakable splendors. 

Nathaniel Hawthorne

http://www.inspirational-quotations.com/faith-quotes.html

___

I often wonder if you all ponder whether or not all I do is to think about faith. And I suppose that, in reality, thinking about faith and its various components is something that does consume a great part of my writing day. Yes, there are some days that my “Thought” is  almost divinely inspired and it seems to flow from my head (or heart) with the speed of a rocket launch. But other times, I think and I mull over and I pace and then I eat a snack, only to return to the thinking and mulling and pacing part all over again. You see,I am not a Biblical scholar who can pull the facts and figures about faith out of my hat. Much like any writer, I must wait for that spark to ignite, and then I begin to do some research and then I begin to write…..haltingly, at first, like a toddler’s first uncertain steps. But the more I write the smoother the keystrokes, just as a toddler’s stumbles become that wobbling run, which morphs into a sprint that can hurdle all obstacles in our way!

___

True faith is exactly the same. Beginning with a small nudge, we take those first stumbling steps toward our beliefs. But as we move forward, and we learn and and we question and find the answers, we learn the essentials of faith and trust, which are, when you think about it, the most important things we can do. After all, there is nothing more important to Him than that! It is how He grants us that ETERNAL payback, after all!

___

Isn’t it amazing how all those challenges we discover as we walk life’s path (and which are planted there on purpose by you-know-who), really remind us exactly how much we need Him rather than undermining our faith? It is how He made us, I think. I think there is a part of every single person alive, whether Christian or non-believer, that gravitates toward that which is good and right. Our sin may tell us otherwise, but our hearts will usually win the struggle, when push comes to shove!

___

God’s power to act for us is all-encompassing. But whether or not we encourage that behavior is quite another matter. Why is it that we all too often treat our need for Him into something akin to a carrot dangling on the end of the fishing line hanging in front of the donkey’s nose….always there, but just a tad out of our reach? I think the answer to that is we are afraid of the battle that we are engaged in. Well for my money, that is where the trust component comes into play, which is the nudge our hearts need to win the struggle! And the thing is that God usually trusts in us to choose the right thing. But do we trust in Him enough to do it? I hope so! NO……I BELIEVE SO!

___

 

By faith Enoch was taken from this life, so that he did not experience death: “He could not be found, because God had taken him away.” For before he was taken, he was commended as one who pleased God. And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

By faith Noah, when warned about things not yet seen, in holy fear built an ark to save his family. By his faith he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness that is in keeping with faith.

By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going.

Hebrews 11:5-8 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

