Thought For The Day 01/04/13

Standard

Best If Used By….

Post 1023

___

egg_use_by_date_Mark-Turnauckas

http://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/ceonetwork/pages/186/attachments/original/1384997984/egg_use_by_date_Mark-Turnauckas.jpg?1384997984

___

“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.”

James Dean

http://thinkexist.com/quotation/dream_as_if_you-ll_live_forever-and_live_as_if/194378.html

___

Today I began thinking about those “use by” dates we find on nearly everything we purchase these days. Now I, for one, find it somewhat comforting to know that someone is looking out for my best interests as a consumer to guarantee the things that I ingest or use are the freshest and healthiest that is available. We would no more think about drinking milk when the “use by” date has expired by a week, nor would we buy meat that has been sitting in the grocery store for days! And certainly we want the vitamins and medications so necessary for assuring our health and well-being to be the freshest and in the most therapeutic state they can be. And that started me wondering whether people have a “use by” date that is somehow tattooed onto our DNA at the moment of conception!

___

We as a society and culture have evolved to such wondrous levels. Our scientists, chemists, physicians, and engineers, to name just a few careers, have learned to fix almost every single part of this frail body that human beings wear throughout our lifetimes. When organs fail, many we can replace via transplant. We use a myriad of devices that are designed and made to be implanted into our bodies to keep us healthy. We have artificial joints, heart valves, insulin pumps, filters to keep blood clots from moving from our legs to our hearts (I have one of those), artificial fluids and lubricants for our joints and probably a million other man-made miracles that extend our lives.

___

Did you know that in 1900 the life expectancy for people was 47? Almost 13 years younger than I am, myself, today that I sit and write this “Thought”. But there are so many wondrous miracles I would have missed had my life been snatched from among the living back then. I would have never discovered the satisfaction of being a Guardian ad Litem! I would never have witnessed a little guy with the most beautiful red hair you can imagine whose grip on my heart is positively iron-fisted. I would never have known the joy of uniting two hearts forever as one, through the bonds of holy matrimony. And I would never have rediscovered my reawakening of faith! So many “nevers” would have escaped my witness!

___

Yes, the overall life expectancy of a baby born in 2007 is 77.9 years, and that age is likely to be far higher today, in the year 2014. And yes, these years do vary based on sex, race and even economic status. But I have to wonder what the cost…..AND the prize…..is for this miracle that tide and time has wrought! Has it always been His intent that our living be but 40 years and not 400 years? It was certainly written as being far longer once upon a time in early our earliest records of faith. However, we can also rationalize this today, as being due to a much different way of calculating the passing seconds, minutes, days and years, in days of yore. But that we are a finite race is an unmistakable absolute.

___

I think and believe that we DO have a “use by” date, pre-ordained and conferred by God upon our very souls the moment egg and sperm combine in that miraculous symphony that is conception. And while we do want to pursue all the things we can possibly do with our physicians and scientists to maintain our health for as long as is reasonably managed, for with each breath we take there is always hope, I also know intimately well that quantity does not always spell quality. And for me, quality is the thing that counts most as I continue my yearly solar revolution.

___

I want to live my days aware of those I love. I want to sleep next to my husband and lie still and listen as his warmth and quiet breathing lulls me to sleep. I want to be free of pain and hurt and anger and loneliness. I want to feel the sun on my face and the shiver I get from snow on my tongue. I want to sing and dance and laugh and even cry. And when the day comes that the things I want are no longer possible then I hope and pray to be kept comfortable and loved and await the miracle that awaits me when my mortal life slips away. I only fear the loss of my mortal life but I do not fear the path my immortal soul will embark on!

___

 

For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

1 Thessalonians 5:9-11 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

