Thought For The Day 01/08/14

Standard

Over Thinking Faith

Post 1027

___

overthinking-ruins-things

___

Sometimes things go wrong only to teach us what is right…it is up to us to know the difference and make the right choice after the fact!

Nishan Panwar

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Overthinking_Things/

___

I am beginning to wonder if either faith is a more complicated concept than I ever thought or else I am over thinking the entire idea of faith…..which led me to an idea. Is it possible to over think faith? And suddenly I saw in my mind’s eye, a picture of Christ surrounded by children, and I knew the answer to my own question.

___

I believe that it may just be our over thinking theology which stands in the way of our acceptance and embrace of the very fundamentals…. the essence that give faith a direction for modeling our lives on. And that may well be the reason we read these words, spoken by Christ, that were captured in Luke 18:17 NIV. Remember this? “Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” Now think about the verses Luke relates just prior to this verse. Remember that they paint a picture of the Disciples becoming prideful? Having spent some time with Christ, they thought themselves somehow above others because of their direct connection to Him. And this could not have been any more obvious that when they sought to keep the children from witnessing the words of their Master along with their families. So what does Christ do? He reminds them that these children were the jewels of the family and as such, these parents were bringing to him their most precious cargo! Yes, children held very little power at that time…..certainly far less than they do today. However, in Christ’s view, they had as much right to witness the teachings of God, and that they were always welcomed to gather near Him.

___

It is theology that remains sometimes just beyond my understanding, but never grace. You see, it is grace that is worn by every child, and it is by grace that the rest of us are called to faith. Galatians 1:6-7(a) NIV, reminds us of this. “I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you to live in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— which is really no gospel at all….” And while I can not speak for you, I do know one thing with absolute certainty, in thinking about my own faith. If I have half of the grace of a child, it will be enough!

 

___

“Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or make the tree bad and its fruit bad, for the tree is known by its fruit. You brood of vipers! How can you speak good, when you are evil? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

Matthew 12:33-37 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

