Thought For The Day 01/20/14

Standard

Simply Hot Air?

Post 1040

___

Hot air balloon2

http://www.lightstalking.com/hot-air-balloons

___

This post from last year came to my mind yesterday when I heard the song “Up Up and Away”. I remembered the picture I had used more than the post, but when I re-read the post, I knew it needed re-sharing! Enjoy!

Mandy

___

After us they’ll fly in hot air balloons, coat  styles will change, perhaps they’ll discover a sixth sense and cultivate it, but  li…fe  will remain the same, a hard life full of secrets, but happy. And a thousand  years from now man will still be sighing, “Oh! Life is so hard!” and will still,  like now, be afraid of death and not want to die.

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov

http://quotes.dictionary.com/search/hot-air+balloon?page=1

___

A response I made to a friend who commented on yesterday’s “Thought” has brought me to a tremendous revelation, and has led (or perhaps guided is a better word) to today’s post. In contemplating the seeming ease with which I seem to share with you every day, I must wonder if it is really spiritually driven or merely an excess of hot air needing venting? Do the things I share really make any difference in the lives of people in the world? I do not see evidence which would support the truth that it does…at least not in the here and now! And then suddenly I began to think about another whose gift of turning hot air into miracles, and to somehow create beauty and love in the world through words, forever changed the lives of billions of people. And as I pictured the masterpieces He painted with His words, I began to envision in my mind a hot air balloon. You see, collapsed on the ground, it is simply a messy jumble of colored cloth. Yes, it is brightly hued but it also lacks dimension. But add a little hot air, and suddenly, you have a colorful and vivid masterpiece which paints the sky with its amazing beauty!
___
We face eyes everywhere we turn in the world. Sometimes those eyes are looking to us for answers. Sometimes they are questioning our motives. But since all of those eyes are waiting for a response from us, it is what we do with all of our hot air matters. Oh the power men wield from those words our hot air form. Words of strong leaders have to power to build nations just as words of faith have the power to build bridges to God! I once read somewhere that faith is the mysterious force that once it has entered our hearts, must exit from our mouths through words But once it does, it has the capacity to forever change the world and the lives of those who inhabit it. You see, faith gives words power and it is those powerful words which gives birth to hearts filled with new faith. Romans 10:17 ESV says,  “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.”
___
Now there are many out there who know God and who hold a deep and abiding faith in their hearts. But, they also fail to share it with others, and the problem with this is that for faith to work its magic, it MUST be shared! Romans 10: 8-10 NIV reaffirms this imperative! “But what does it say? “The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,” that is, the message concerning faith that we proclaim: If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. “
___
So if you ever wonder at what exactly your hot air has the power to do, just remember the power the words of Jesus Christ had in changing the dynamic of the world forever. Let your faith shine through your words, but choose carefully the words you want the world to know about your faith, lest they be only hot air that shares nothing!
___
“Since we have the same spirit of faith according to what has been written, “I believed, and so I spoke,” we also believe, and so we also speak,”

2 Corinthians 4: 13 ESV

 

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

