Thought For The Day 02/08/14

Standard

The End Is Near

Post 1060

___

bridge out

___

THERE IS NO TIME

There is no time, No time to spare, 
These are the moments, In which we share, 

There is no time, Forget the past, 
For nothing is forever, This will not last, 

There is no time, The end is near, 
Love each moment, Live not in fear… 

AKHIL GOEL

http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/there-is-no-time-2/

___

I am bone weary. And I suspect that I am not alone in feeling that way, given the climate of today’s world! (And no, I do not mean the weather, although that has indeed been a trial in recent years. No, I am referring to the challenges of life these days.) And while it is an economic threat that many face these days, mine is a bit more personal than that. But despite the cause, the result seems to be that it is so very hard to keep oneself on the straight and narrow when you feel as if every way you turn, you are facing a firing squad taking aim at your head and your heart. You see, we have been struggling with what seems like the perpetual presence of that black cloud hovering over the Bruscella household.

___

I never thought it would come to this, but I am threatened with losing the faith I have grown to rely on so much. Yes, the same faith I talked about yesterday. Except for me, it is not MORE, MORE, MORE that I seek but LESS, LESS, LESS! I am facing the struggle of questioning why. Why has He has chosen to share with me not a cup full of blessings but a cup full of tests? And while once upon a time, I would have said, “This too shall pass. He is delivering to me only what He knows I can bear because He knows what is in my heart and mind.” But today? Not so much! Health challenges for those I love, coupled by other acts of God, such as my daughter and grandson being displaced and forced to live with me because they were flooded from their home, have me struggling to come to terms with what my head is saying must be His will for my life, when my heart is screaming enough!

___

I struggled with this yesterday as I waited to find out when we would need to return to New York City for more complicated and dangerous surgery for the man I love. THEN I read something my friend, Jeffrie Wallace (Friar Jeff), posted on his social media page. I share the words with you below (as they were written complete with their Irish phrasing), coupled with the picture his post contained, which I have shared above! And I laughed. And as I laughed, I felt just a bit lighter in my heart.

___

Sean is the pastor of a Church of England parish on the Northern Ireland/ Southern Ireland border and Patrick is the priest in the Roman Catholic Church across the road. One day they are seen together, erecting a sign into the ground, which says: 

THE END IS NEAR! 
TURN YOURSELF AROUND NOW 
BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE! 

As a car speeds past them, the driver leans out his window and yells, “Leave people alone, you Irish religious nutters! We don’t need your lectures.” 

From the next curve they hear screeching tyres and a big splash.

Shaking his head, Rev. Patrick says “Dat’s da terd one dis mornin’.”

“Yeah,” Pastor Sean agrees, then asks, “Do ya think maybe the sign should just say, ‘Bridge Out?'”

___

You see, as I laughed, I realized that I had been the one holding the sign that said “BRIDGE OUT” rather than the one that said, “THE END IS NEAR! TURN AROUND BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE”! You see, with the second phrase…the phrase contained on the sign held by Priest and the Pastor, was a promise. There was hope. But rather than the hope that He offered to me, and which was all mine to choose, I had, instead, chosen the dead-end sign to embrace! And that was when I realized that what I had though was a dead-end was merely an invitation to renew my trust and faith in Him. THAT was my test. And I have chosen to turn around!

___

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

Matthew 7:13-14 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

