Thyought For The Day 02/12/14

Standard

He Is My Brother From Another Mother!

Post 1064

___

trust-god

___

“If all my friends were to jump off a bridge, I wouldn’t follow. I’d be at the bottom to catch them when they fall.”

Author Unknown

http://thinkexist.com/quotations/trust/

___

I don’t usually share in its entirety, a post written by another. But today I am doing just that. And I doubt very much if he will mind in the least. You see, my friend and colleague, Jeffrie Wallace (AKA Friar Jeff), has shared along with me, what I have come to believe is a most improbable journey of faith. Inexplicably, we both were drawn to to this place, not as saints looking for a museum to showcase our accomplishments but as sinners looking for that hospital to make us well in the eyes of the Almighty, and to a lesser degree, our fellow man.

___

We each have seen many highs and lows during the 3 years since I joined him on this  journey, but what we have forged together is a bond as strong as iron, and I have no doubt that wherever it is that God’s hand leads us, we will remain attached at the heart! And just as I trust God to catch me if I fall, I trust this man to do the same! You see, he is both a ‘Christian’ AND a “Follower of Christ”!

___

….Connecting The Dots….

___

draw_mediatoractivist

___

Did you know that there is a HUGE difference between being a ‘Christian’ and being a ‘Follower of Christ’..???

Yep….HUGE difference…

I was reading today’s “Reading of the Day” and it occurred to me that while I have been afforded a BIG responsibility being His servant, I see others who cannot seem to comprehend one little thing: JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE CLERICS DOES NOT MEAN THEY GET A ‘GOLDEN TICKET’ INTO HEAVEN!

While some may argue this point, I wish to present MY thoughts on this and YOU can decide for yourselves if what I say is truth…

When a person is a ‘Christian’ they attend church, tithe (if the case applies), toss money into an offering bowl, sing a few psalms, repeat prayers by rote en mass, have SOMEONE ELSE read the Bible TO them and tell them what THE CHURCH says it means…then they go home, and whatever has been done in that building is pretty much forgotten, as they feel they have done their ‘obligation’ to God for the week…they say ‘I have read my Bible’ and then proceed to use it as a weapon to point out the wrongdoings of others with GLARING precision….

These same people also shout “AMEN” and “HALLELUJAH” to the rafters yet in private curse, do DIRE things to others, drink heavily, and ignore EVERYTHING that was said during the lesson…and HATE IT when THEIR OWN inequities are pointed out to them…

Similar to seeing one of the “Gangsta” types who wear a cross, say they are Christian, then pull a gun and kill because someone is not showing them “respect”…you get my drift…

A ‘Follower of Christ’ is one who AFTER hearing a sermon, or lecture, goes home and INCORPORATES it into their life…. one who READS the Bible and ADHERES to it’s teachings..who does not pound their faith into others, nor try to attack others because they are not of their faith.

One who realizes the basic truths found in Matthew 7:1-2 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

These sorts walk around doing GOOD deeds, not merely MOUTHING them…one who PRAYS with ALL their heart not for themselves, but for OTHERS who are in far greater need than they are. A Follower of Christ is one who does not count cost when they see someone in need…they give of themselves, their time, their money, their skills to make the poor and suffering LIVE rather than merely exist.

In other words…they LIVE ‘The Word’…in every breath, every action, every minute of the day…they UNDERSTAND what it means,the sacrifice (yes, both of themselves and of Christ)…they may not get rich, or be noted in the annals of history…nor will you see them on the cover of ‘Rolling Stone’ magazine…but you will SEE their deeds…you will FEEL it when talking to them…that ‘aura’ of quiet acceptance around them…that sense of PEACE in their soul…

They do not walk by someone who lay bleeding on the pavement, they STOP TO HELP…

I have seen people laying on the streets here…people who, yes, may be on drop over the rim of a bottle…and I see almost everyone just walk by without a glance.

Case and point: Just last week I saw a man laying under a bush…most just said “He is probably drunk” and kept walking…I, on the other hand (due to the fact being a cleric means MORE to me than just simply ‘preaching’) checked to see if he was okay…it turns out he had been robbed the night before, injured, and left under there bleeding…(yes, I called the services and they took care of him)…now…here is where we separate the ‘wheat from the chaff’ in this…I went TO THE HOSPITAL later that day to see if he was ALRIGHT.

See, I am not one who is merely content to just ‘preach’ my faith to another, or ‘save their soul’ as others would have me do…I CARE. I care enough to WANT to help without asking, to AID those in need without thought to cost…true, I am the poorest mouse in the church, but THAT IS MY JOB.

(No, I am NOT blowing my own trumpet..I am giving an EXAMPLE of ONE THING I do besides wear a rather hideous robe! :D )

Not to stand there, preach a small sermon, then hightail it out for a round of golf…it is not MY place to ask “What church do they attend?” if someone asks me to bless or baptize someone…if someone seeks Communion, it is not for the likes of ME to say “They are not of this church, so no”…WE ARE HIS SERVANTS..not BETTER than those we serve.

To serve God means YOU HAVE NO ‘SELF’…your ‘self’ is to GIVE TO OTHERS…to LEAD them by example so that they too will rise up and lead others as well….AS A CLERIC WE ARE JUDGED HARSHER BY GOD…because we are supposed to be THE EXAMPLE by which HIS WORD is made known.

They are fond of speaking about ‘the end of times’…yet fail to realize how CLOSE they are..how much their soul is in DANGER..

“‘An end! The end is coming on the four corners of the land. 3′Now the end is upon you, and I will send My anger against you; I will judge you according to your ways and bring all your abominations upon you.

For My eye will have no pity on you, nor will I spare you, but I will bring your ways upon you, and your abominations will be among you; then you will know that I am the LORD!” -Ezekiel 7:2b-4

When I see other people saying “This or that is not what my church does” or “This or that is what my preacher says” I get SO ANGRY…I know, I know…but I sometimes cannot help it…they use their “church” to hide behind to cover their own inequities…

“Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites; as it is written: ‘These people honor me with their lips,but their hearts are far from me.

They worship me in vain;their teachings are merely human rules.’

You have let go of the commands of God and are holding on to human traditions.” Mark 7:6-8

DO NOT PLACE your ‘faith’ on DOGMA or RHETORIC…READ YOUR BIBLE YOURSELF…you are adults! You should be able to say after reading a passage “Oh, THIS is what he meant I should do”…not someone saying “This is what it means, and this is what you should do”…because 9 out of 10 times CHURCH DOCTRINE, and not THE WORD.

I can sum it all up in two short passages…Matthew 7:1-2 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

And Mark 12:30-31 “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’

The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

There is no commandment greater than these.”

It is not enough to simply mouth prayers, you must BECOME prayer…it is not enough to SAY you are a Christian, you must ACT like one…not merely in singing and going to a building once a week, but in ACTION AND THOUGHT…EVERY DAY of the week.

Therein lay the difference…if you connect the dots, you will see that while one set of people say ‘I am a Christian’ there is a MINORITY who actually ARE….

SET YOURSELF APART…BE THE KIND OF ‘FOLLOWER OF CHRIST’ HE WANTS YOU TO BE…

But then again, this is just my take on the subject…

http://warder5150.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/connecting-the-dots/

___

“Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God..

Psalm 20:7 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

    • You know what? Mine has too. Even now my husband is very ill and facing life altering surgery that will be done in New York City at a huge teaching hospital. Which is what I referred to as the trials that He seems to be giving me (us). Your trials (and those of ones you love) are no less life altering. But we both will come through them because we have no other choice but to put our faith in Him and plow ahead! And we will discover what strength He has endowed us with!

      Thanks for your posts too. Sometimes I need to be transported to a simpler and more innocent time….if even for a little while. And that is the gift you give to me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

