Thought For The Day 02/13/14

Standard

Would of…..Should of…..Could of…..

Post 1065

___

frustrated-

___

The human story does not always unfold like a mathematical calculation on the principle that two and two make four.  Sometimes in life they make five or minus three; and sometimes the blackboard topples down in the middle of the sum and leaves the class in disorder and the pedagogue with a black eye. 

Winston Churchill

http://www.quotegarden.com/perfection.html

___

I woke up sometime in the wee hours of the morning with such a profound thought about something I needed to write in this blog that I sat bolt upright in bed. The idea was clear, concise and profound and I just knew it would be the perfect theme to think about and describe in a blog. Now, usually when this happens, it is as if the memory has somehow been permanently affixed in my mind. For example, when I dream and I remember the dream, I remember colors and people and conversations and places just as vividly as if I were visiting some magical vacation destination whose image forever paints a masterpiece for my memory.

___

At one time I “efforted” the process of recollections of these thoughts by keeping pad and pen at my bedside. But, alas, one of my 4 legged, furry bairns, lives for all things left around. I have seen him steal a roll of toilet paper and carry it around the house, prepared to begin some feline game of play that I, myself, was accused of perpetrating as a young teen, when I decorated the yard of a neighboring home one “Mischief Night”. As a matter of fact, once, in the middle of the night, Salem (a highly appropriate name for my feline el Diablo), somehow managed to unlock my cell phone and actually dial the Vets office. (I have absolutely no idea how it happened but when I woke up, something made me check my mobile and my call log recorded a phone call to Kindcare Animal Hospital made around 2 AM. It wasn’t me, that much I do know. I checked with the office and sure enough, their answering machine recorded my incoming call. And, fortunately, nothing untoward was recorded!) Since my cat, Misty, never gets on the night table and the dogs were crated…..well, enough said! That event heralded a period when I began finding all manner of strange bedfellows buried beneath the blankets. AND, it was the day I made sure EVERYTHING would find its place, hidden from Salem, before I retired for the night! But, as I said, earlier, this was no common or ordinary thought that caused such an extraordinary reaction. There would be no way I could possibly forget it…….right?  WRONG! I have no more idea than the man in the moon what it was I wanted to say! I have struggled and pondered and nothing….nada….

___

How many of you all have had moments like the one I had? Have you ever said, I intended to do something that would make a difference? Or how about, I wanted to do something and make a difference? But, alas, something happened to trip up what were our best intentions. Or, even better still, perhaps you did act on something only to discover that, despite your best intentions, things still did not work out quite the way you wanted them to or hoped they would! This was not some huge sin of bad intentions run amok. You did not intend to cause hurt or pain to anyone. You did not want your actions (or inactions, for that matter) to cause any one any distress. And then the “Aha” moment arrives for us….the time arrives when we realize that we are not super human. We are NOT God!

___

We can not, nor should we even try, to be everything to everyone! And even better yet, sometimes the onus of responsibility is not ours to bear in the first place. We can not always know how someone we are interacting with will react to our attempt at intervention. Sometimes we lack the wisdom or talents or knowledge we need to actually master or complete the task at hand. But rather than beat ourselves up for our mistakes or our wanting, perhaps it’s time we actually look at them and put them into perspective. Try asking the following questions:

  • Does this mistake or omission really have the ability to entirely change the direction our path in our life is taking?
  • Has our mistake forever changed the lives of others who interact with us?
  • Has our mistake or omission somehow caused us to lose touch with our faith or love for our Almighty Father?
Unless the answer to any of these questions is yes, which would then force us to beg forgiveness of the person we have offended, be it another person, ourself or yes, even God, then just chalk it up to the fact that we walk this earth as mortal man. We are not infallible. We will err. Most probably every single day. So when push comes to shove, the only other question we really should be asking might be this:
  • What can we learn from this experience so that we do not find ourselves quoting the old proverb whose author is unknown, but whose origin is claimed by nearly every ethnicity known to man, “Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me!” 
___

“Perhaps the LORD will take note of my troubles and return good to me instead of curses today!”

2 Samuel 16:12 ISV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

