Thought For The Day 02/22/14

Standard

Knowing Ourselves

Post 1075

___

waiting-for-the-train-at-the-railway-station

http://www.123rf.com/photo_3194105_woman-waiting-for-the-train-at-the-railway-station.html

___

Knowing yourself is not so much about introspection and interaction. To know yourself is to realize that you are more than the little self that has been given to you by your history — the pattern that others made — that your true self is, in truth, much larger and includes other people, other cultures, other species even. That life is less about being and more about inter-being. We come to know ourselves, then, through coming to know each other. And the deeper that knowledge, the richer and more creative t he world we build together

Danny Martin

http://www.finestquotes.com/select_quote-category-Knowing%20Yourself-page-0.htm

___

There is a commercial airing here on US television (I do not know if it airs worldwide) for a dating service that has a line of dialog that goes something like this: How can you know who’s right for you until you know yourself? Now this is a paraphrase of the original, but it is a sentiment that offers some profound advice that is well worth remembering. You see, whether it is as you are searching for life’s companion, or you are searching to become closer to God, neither will be accomplished unless and until you first know your own heart and what it is you want from the thing you seek!

___

Now most of us might think that this is easy. But, take a moment and think about the last time it took you what seemed like forever to make a decision about something in your life. Perhaps it was something as inane as what it was you wanted for dinner in a restaurant, or even making a choice about the clothes you are shopping for. Or how about that indecisiveness you feel as you are about to begin that big work project. Yes, each and every one of the choices we are faced with all force us to look inward and make some hard and fast decisions about what will make us both happy and feel fulfilled, at the same time! And yet, as well as we think our strengths and weaknesses are and what will ultimately make us happy, often, when forced to make a choice, we remain uncertain. I don’t know about you all, but there are many times that I feel like I have one of those “mini” me’s, one wearing a halo complete with harp, and the other, horns on head and pitchfork in hand, sitting one on each shoulder, and each one whispering loudly into my ear, vying for my attention so they can tell me why their way is the best way!

___

Fortunately for man, it really is easier when it comes to matters of faith because it is the one area in our lives where we are driven by the emotions and feelings contained within the heart instead of inside our head. Faith affords us a profound insight into ourselves and it is easier to trust the things He is saying to us because He knows who and what we are meant to be in the first place! And when we can turn our face heavenward and say to Him, “You know me because you made me”, we have taken the first step in knowing exactly who we are and exactly what we want from life. Once we have this sorted out, the rest of the things we accomplish throughout our lives is merely the icing on the cake!

___

There is a song that I remember learning as a child about trusting God and the promises He makes to us all as we seek to become closer with him. The words of the first verse goes something like this:

Standing on the promises I cannot fall,
Listening every moment to the Spirit’s call
Resting in my Savior as my all in all,
Standing on the promises of God.

In case we have any questions about what He can do for us, His promises are given to us in many scripture passages from the Bible. I am sharing a few for you to read and remember. Allow them to boost you up during the times you find yourself doubting. And there is something else to consider. You may just find that taking them to heart might help you to get the rest of your life’s “ducks” in a row, as well!

___

Jeremiah 29:11 NLT

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

__

Matthew 11:28-29 NLT

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

__

Philippians 4:19 NLT

And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

__

Romans 8:37-39 NLT

No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

