Thought For The Day 02/27/14

Standard

Catching Dreams

Post 1081

___

___

Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you. 

Marsha Norman

http://www.quotegarden.com/dreams.html

___

I have always marveled at how the different faiths in the world somehow manage to be so very similar to one another despite often having such diverse tenets and creeds. And yet, when we look at the bigger picture, what we are actually seeing is some masterpiece akin to one painted by DaVinci or penned by Shakespeare or composed by Brahms. Each of these works pure artistic genius, each part of the beauty that is to be founds in the arts, and yet each so different that to be able to find a common thread is no easy task. Each different. Each the same!

___

Thus it is with each of the world’s religions. Each religion capable of providing to each follower the answer to the mystery that their hearts seek, each religion profoundly different, one from the other, and yet, when combined together, each acting as an integral component in the formation of the masterpiece that is FAITH!

___

I have in my home a cross. I also have several versions of the Bible. They are there because they are a reminder to me of the need to remember the word of God as it was given to mankind, and also the sacrifice made by Jesus which has paved the road for my place with the Father in heaven. They are my reminder that, as a Christian, it is my responsibility to take up the cross, spiritually, and live my life in accordance with the teachings that I have been given through His word. They are intended to direct my actions in a way that is pleasing to God. They tell me to grasp a hold of and nurture the wondrous and beautiful things that are part of my life, and to let go of the things that are the temptations that would try their hardest to undermine my faith. And I think that it is this reason that, in addition to the cross and the Bible, I also have a Dreamcatcher in my home! Sacrilege, you ask? Not when you read and understand the legend of the Dreamcatcher! Spirituality is everywhere if we but choose to find it and then discover how to see it and use it. It does not replace, but rather,  should be used as an adjunct to the other mysteries that we embrace as people of faith!

___

The Legend Of The Dreamcatcher

Long ago when the word was young, an old Lakota spiritual leader was on a high mountain and had a vision. In his vision, Iktomi, the great trickster and teacher of wisdom, appeared in the form of a spider. Iktomi spoke to him in a sacred language. As he spoke, Iktomi the spider picked up the elder’s willow hoop which had feathers,horsehair, beads and offerings on it, and began to spin a web.

He spoke to the elder about the cycles of life; how we begin our lives as infants, move on through childhood and on to adulthood. Finally we go to old age where we must be taken care of as infants, completing the cycle. “But”, Iktomi said as he continued to spin his web, “in each time of life there are many forces; some good and some bad. If you listen to the good forces, they will steer you in the right direction. But, if you listen to the bad forces, they’ll steer you in the wrong direction and may hurt you. So these forces can help, or can interfere with the harmony of Nature.” While the spider spoke, he continued to weave his web.

When Iktomi finished speaking, he gave the elder the web and said, “The web is a perfect circle with a hole in the center. Use the web to help your people reach their goals, making good use of their ideas, dreams and visions. If you believe in the great spirit, the web will catch your good ideas and the bad ones will go through the hole.” The elder passed on his vision to the people and now many Indian people hang a dream catcher above their bed to sift their dreams and visions. The good is captured in the web of life and carried with the people, but the evil in their dreams drops through the hole in the center of the web and is no longer a part of their lives. It’s said that the dream catcher holds the destiny of the future.

___

 

In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams.
Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy.
I will show wonders in the heavens above and signs on the earth below, blood and fire and billows of smoke.
The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord.

Acts 2:17-20 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

