Thought For The Day 03/05/14

Standard

The Countdown

Post 1087

___

countdown

___

“Envy is counting the other fellow’s blessings instead of your own”

Author Unknown

http://thinkexist.com/quotes/with/keyword/counting/

___

The day is at hand. We are at the start of what we might think of as a yellow brick road of faith. And the prize? Not an emerald city but a prize even more precious. A prize that offer a promise of life after death. Yes, we are embarking on the path that leads to Easter! And so for the next 40 days (we do not, after all, count Sundays), we abstain by something that we adore.

___

Will we forsake chocolate cake or other sweet treat, or not post an update on Facebook or tweet? Or will we sacrifice that Porterhouse and a cold beer on a Friday night? But why? What lessons will we come away with from the sacrifice we choose to make? Will we feel a bit closer to God’s son (whose sacrifice, in all honesty, makes any we make pale by comparison)? How can we possibly compare the 40 days of inconvenience we will experienced to that of a man (yes, the son of God but still in human form) who had foreknowledge of what would occur, who was scourged beyond comprehension, who carried his crossbeam which, in all likelihood, weighed at least as much as did He, an undetermined distance (some scholars say 1/2 a mile, others up to 5 miles)?

___

Think for a moment about how amazing the gift of grace we have been given is. It is God’s gift to us because of the journey that His Son made to Calvary. It is a grace whose color is crimson… dyed that hue by the very  blood that flowed from the wounds on Jesus’ head, hands and feet and side. And when there was no blood left in His body, still his wounds poured forth water. It was this water that reminds us of the water of Baptism that first joins us to the Father as His child and it is this crimson gift that see’s us as we reach for the stars of our successes and as we fall victim to our times of failure. It is the grace that God offers even as he lifts us from our trials, and carries us along life’s road. And it is this grace that surges through us all the days of our lives and promises life everlasting in our Father’s mansion on high!

___

Amazing Grace! That is what we get from Jesus’ sacrifice. That is the lesson we are expected to learn and remember as we offer our own sacrifices this Lenten season. So when you look in the mirror and see the face that stares back into your eyes, will you be proud of the gift you are giving back to Jesus by your sacrifice, this year?

___

“ARE YOU READY?”

by Cindy Martin

~

I look at myself in the mirror. I see my reflection… Do I like what I see? I see a person that despite what I see, the flesh lives in me and in the world around me.

The world is constantly putting down the name of Jesus. People say, “Why do you want Jesus in your life?” The government says I can’t pray in certain places and if I do, I can’t pray in Jesus’ name.

Are you ready to say, “Lord, I am yours!” Do I do enough to let people around me and the world see my Lord in my life, everyday? Are you ready for the world to see Jesus in you?

http://www.rhythmontherock.com/poems_the_journey_to_calvary.html

 

___

“And when you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites, for they disfigure their faces that their fasting may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, that your fasting may not be seen by others but by your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

Matthew 6: 16-18 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

