Thought For The Day 03/07/14

Standard

Doubt

Post 1089

___

Crossroads_Faith_Doubt

___

Doubt is a pain too lonely to know that faith is his twin brother.

Kahlil Gibran

www.quotegarden.com/faith.html

___

I am sharing this for me….as much as I am for you, because I have come to feel myself slipping into that quagmire we call doubt!

Mandy

___

Even before we realize it, it often begins to creep up on us, on feet as quiet as a cat’s whose delicate tread carries him through the brush and then prepares him to pounce on some unsuspecting prey. Is that, indeed, what we are? Prey for those niggling, nagging thoughts that invade our waking moments with sweaty palms and clouds our dreams with nightmares? And have you noticed that once it begins, it refuses to release its hold until the time comes when we either succumb to its stifling grip or else we face the alternative where we are forced to take up arms and banish it away? And that would be well enough, if it would but stay away! Unfortunately, that is seldom the case. Doubt is something that has a tendency to repeat itself in some endless loop, playing over and over again in our heads!

___

Is there a way to banish this parasite permanently? Probably not! But there are things we can do to keep it at bay more!

  • Keep the things that share a positive message close by!

I have a friend that keeps a tiny book of positive messages in her purse so that when she begins to feel herself doubting, she can, at a glance, get a dose of “feel good” immediately injected into her very spirit! She swears that this is the way she manages to keep her head above water every day!

  • Retreat to a place of quiet for a time! 

I have another friend that meditates. Before those little doubts become big worries, she goes to her quiet place, and closes her eyes for just a moment. Then she focuses on clearing her mind and instead, paints beautiful images where darkness reigned supreme only moments before!

  • Me time is great time!

I enjoy writing and music. When I write and especially if I add some lulling music in the background, are the times when it is easiest for me to decompress and rid myself of those nagging doubts that plague me. My husband has his golf game. My friend likes to knit! Whatever is your cup of tea is most probably the thing that will allow you the time you need to regroup and recharge!

  • Let your assets speak for themselves!

We all have gifts that are uniquely ours. We come by some naturally while others are nurtured until they bloom beautifully within us. But when we remember all the wonderful things we each hold within ourselves and the many things we have accomplished throughout the years, it is easier to keep those doubts relegated to their proper place in our lives!

___

While we may forget, there were those in the Bible who also found doubt to be a millstone around their neck. Gideon was one of these people who, having suffered a multitude of failures, doubted himself and even tested God, in the process. But we know that God sent an angel to Gideon who spoke words reminding him of his worth….”The LORD is with you, mighty warrior.” (Judges 6:12, NIV).  But even then, Gideon doubted. And again, God sent his message….3 times! First, Gideon prepared a meal for the angel which was consumed by fire when touched by the angel’s staff. Secondly, God covered the sheep skin with dew overnight while the ground around it remained dry. Thirdly, God covered the ground with dew but left the fleece dry!

___

God knew He had a plan for Gideon. God also knew that Gideon’s doubt would need to be banished if he were to be able to be used as an instrument of His divine will. God was patient with Gideon and so must we all be patient with ourselves. But given the opportunity, like Gideon, if we allow it, we can put the fears of doubt to rest, and by doing so, will become not just better human beings but better Christians, as well!

___

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Jeremiah 29:11 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. I don’t always read or comment on your posts, Mandy, mainly due to lack of time etc. This one has really helped me in my struggle to get out of the quagmire that has become me – thank you! Julie xxx

    • I am suffering from the same situation. And a quagmire that threatens to swallow us up is the same in the US as it is in Australia as it is everywhere. I hope to learn from my own words. Glad they helped you! Hugs!!!!!

      Mandy

Leave a Reply

