Thought For The Day 03/08/14

Standard

Confession & Secrets

Post 1090

___

MarriageAct

___

 The secret of a happy marriage remains a secret.

Henny Youngman

http://www.quotegarden.com/marriage.html

___

Just ask any couple who are in a committed relationship, whether husband and wife, or a domestic partnership, if they keep secrets from the other and you are apt to be very surprised at the answer you get. In nearly EVERY single relationship, secrets are held as closely within as is the blood that flows throughout the body! There…..I said it in an open forum. Despite vows taken that seal the love of two separate human beings into a relationship bound together for all times as witnessed before God as well as man, each spouse or partner is nearly ALWAYS guilty of not being truthful or forthcoming all the time.

___

I know my husband better than any other human being on the planet, as he does me. I have kept secrets from him, in the past, that exploded in front of me with the impact of an atom bomb! Yet, even when witnessing the harm that this practice effected then, there are still things I keep from him today. I do it BECAUSE I know him as well as I do. I do it because that, for him to know, will cause him worry and concern. I do it because I DO know him so well, and I KNOW that to confess to him or even to simply tell him, would hurt him or cause him unnecessary  angst.

___

I do not do it because I fear losing him. The vows we exchanged in 1975 are something else we hold dear and are as inviolate and absolute as are death and taxes! No, I do it to preserve not our union but the happiness we share within that union. Of course my admission to that fact now begs asking another question. Do I think he keeps things from me? ABSOLUTELY! And for the very same reasons! Is it right each of us to do this? That is a question only we can really answer.

___

The relationship we each share with our partners is unique and special. There are some where the sharing of things like this cement even stronger bonds. There are some where it would not. Neither scenario is right nor is either wrong, as long as we remember that human  relationships are as different, one from the other, as there are stars in the heavens!

___

Is there a place for the confession of those secrets we hold so close? Absolutely! There is one who knows everything that we hold within our hearts. There is no secret….nor sin….that escapes him! Even the things we deny the truth of to ourselves, or have ourselves convinced that they never even occurred in our lives, is known to him!

___

In Matthew 10:26-28 ESV, we are told not to fear the secrets we hold, “… for nothing is covered that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. What I tell you in the dark, say in the light, and what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops. And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.” And it is to Him that the confession of our secrets should be made. By our confession to Him, we are admitting that we are not just sorry for having committed the offense of omission with our partners, but that we also know we will receive the absolution of forgiveness and thus, our conscience will be purged of the things that plague it!  Yes, confession is good for the soul! But sometimes, so are secrets!

___

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

Hebrews 4:12 ESV 

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

