Thought For The Day 03/11/14

Standard

The Most Wonderful Fruit In The World

 

Post 1094

___

___

Your heart is full of fertile seeds, waiting to sprout.  Just as a lotus flower springs from the mire to bloom splendidly, the interaction of the cosmic breath causes the flower of the spirit to bloom and bear fruit in this world.

Morihei Ueshiba

http://www.quotegarden.com/self.html

___

I live in a glass house and although the windows might be just a tad streaky, I invite anyone to take a look inside. What you will see is a happy, laughing, loving, family. We are devoted to one another. Oh, yes, we’ve had our share of mis-steps along the way. At one time, Dan and I, faced with the stresses of illness and the burdens that saddles on a person, thought we might separate. The big “D” word was even toyed with once upon a time! We are not perfect and with God’s graces, will never be because it is our imperfections that makes each of us so very unique and special and RIGHT together as husband and wife and as a family!

___

I am someone who is “anal retentive”. I bug the heck out of Dan on an awful lot of occasions. I am also slow on the uptake sometimes, not because I am stupid, but because I have an overwhelming need to understand as much as I possibly can about the given situation. But it is exactly that attribute which makes me perfect for him! Dan is cavalier and irreverent and fun-loving but when he gets something into his head, he is like a rabid dog, without thinking first about the practicalities of the thing! He also tends to move in reverse instead of forward when the realities of the day-to-day stresses rear their ugly, nasty heads. He keeps my heart and soul light and happy and I keep him moving forward in life. It just works for us, plain and simply!

___

Now these qualities of mine that some of you might see as negatives are the very same things I carry in my heart as I venture into the world every day, whether meeting others for the first or the thousandth time. I am not subtle. I am not perky! As a matter of fact, perky irritates the heck out of me! Yes, these qualities are with me every step that I take! They are with me as I phone, write, type and email everyone else I interact with both directly and indirectly, every day, through the spiritual support I share with those who are my friends through the internet and in the community. They are the very same things that makes me able to share my faith-based message with others. They are qualities that keep me focused closely enough to look at an issue but at the same time, keep me detached enough where I can dissect it apart, if need be, to try to get to the root of that same issue. I am what I am, for better or worse and with me, there is no hidden agenda! What you see is what you get!

___

It is through our differences as well as similarities that  keeps a group…..whether a family, or congregation, or community, or country or world…..growing and thriving. When there is one with strength to temper another’s weaknesses, we find a support system for the total that will not just survive the test of time, but grow and flourish as well! Just look at an orange as an example. Dissect it and really see what it is. It is rind and pulp and juice and seeds that when it is attached to a tree, by stem, can grow and flourish and ripen. If it falls from the tree to the ground, it will lay there and it will rot and die. But when picked from the tree at just the right time and taken in and used, it nourishes the body in a most necessary way.

___

We who believe have an identical tether with the Almighty. If we tend to and nurture the spirituality within, even though we are a diverse group of people, each with our own warts and scars, we each will grow and thrive in the love of Christ. We each will be blessed with that fruit of the spirit, the fruit of our faith, that will carry us through all the days of our lives and promises us an eternity in Heaven! But it doesn’t just happen. Just as the fruit tree needs tender loving care, so does the fruit of the spirit. But what is the fruit of the spirit, exactly? Do we know?

___

There is a beautiful poem by Janine Tomlin that describes the fruit of the spirit better than anything I have ever read before and it is well worth reading and sharing with others, especially with the little ones in your life, who may not always have the words to ask the question but who have a need to have the question answered, anyway!

___

The Fruit of the Spirit

by: Janine Tomlin

~

Walking in the Spirit means living every day
Looking up to Jesus and following His way.
And when I give Him all of me
Just like a mighty tree–
My actions will become sweet fruit
For all the world to see. 

Galatians 5 lists all nine fruits
The Spirit wants to grow
And if you read them for yourself
You will be sure to know:

That LOVE comes first–the kind you choose,
Not feelings you may lose,
But actions that show sacrifice,
And branch out the Good News.
 

And then comes JOY, that you can hold
No matter what life brings
It’s the Song of all God’s promises
The glad heart daily sings.
 

Sweet PEACE comes next, a quiet heart
Though life may twist and turn,
Then PATIENCE shows it wants no part
Of sparks that quickly burn.
 

KINDNESS is an active fruit
It treats others with care
The love of Jesus is the root
That spreads it everywhere.
 

GOODNESS knows and does what’s right–
Its actions match God’s teaching
It spreads His shining, perfect light
Into a dark world reaching.
 

FAITHFULNESS is like a rock,
A firm and steady friend
Who never leaves you hanging–
But is loyal to the end.
 

GENTLENESS is tender strong.
It turns the other cheek.
It rarely ruffles when it’s wronged.
(It’s a synonym for “meek.”)
 

And then at last, fruit number nine,
(Its growth requires practice).
It doesn’t lash out, pout, or whine,
Or prickle like a cactus.
It doesn’t need to over-dine
Or lick clean the ice cream bowl;
For with the Spirit/Helper, you can have fruit SELF CONTROL.
 

When you put the nine together,
A fruit salad you will make
That proves to all the world your life
Is lived for Jesus’ sake!

http://kezi.wordpress.com/poetries-potpourri-of-favorites/fruit-of-the-spirit/

___

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness.”

Galatians 5:22

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry
(copyright applies to only the writings that are my original thoughts)

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

