Thought For The Day 03/13/14

Standard

Friendships

 

Post 1093

___

friendship-56v

http://ts2.mm.bing.net/th?id=HN.608030939545010456&pid=1.7

___

A friend is one of the nicest things you can have, and one of the best things you can be.

Douglas Pagels

http://www.quotegarden.com/friendship.html

___

I discovered today, perhaps for the first time, and I’m saying this in all earnestness, what a real friend is. And that is something many of us may not really understand unless that kind of relationship happens to fall into our laps. What most of us think of as friends are probably more akin to the strongest bond of “acquaintance” that is possible to have with another person. These folks are the ones that telephone us, and pop over and have coffee and some light conversational time. But rarely is this someone we feel comfortable with the unburdening of our soul.

___

Now, admittedly, time with them is something we cherish. Indeed, these people are the ones that help us travel through the minutes of our everyday times of angst. And then, suddenly, we meet that one in a million individual! You know the person I mean. It is as if their hearts have been touched by the very hand of God! They are the people who enter our lives on tiptoe and somehow manage to leave an imprint on our very soul the size of Mount Everest! We are witnessing the uniqueness of character of someone destined to become a person who changes the very essence of who we are for all time!

___

Once in a great while this might just be someone we’ve never even seen face to face. And yet, they are the first ones that ask us not what we can do for them, but rather, they ask us what they can do for us! And they ask this of us before we even realize that there is something we need.

___

They are the ones that come in to our homes when we feel sick and roll up their sleeves and pitch in straightening and offering coffee. They are the ones who somehow leap-frog ahead of those other acquaintances in our lives, and somehow, inexplicably, transform from being merely friends in our lives to being extended family members!

___

Certainly we are not unique in finding such people and finding ties like these. There are a handful of stories in the Bible that tell of friendships like this. And I am not referring to the bonds forged by our Lord and Savior with the Apostles or any other devoted followers. I am thinking more about the bonds that existed between Ruth and Naomi, or the bonds between David and Jonathan. Now we know that there have been some who have speculated that these relationships were more than platonic and yet I do not believe these views in the least. Ruth and Naomi teach us how bonds born firstly of family ties somehow morph into a beautiful love story shared by mother and daughter-in-law. And the story of the special love shared by David and Jonathan was one that grew despite marriages of both men to women that seem to have been devoted mates.

___

I searched through a myriad of search engines to see if I could find the author of the following poem. And though it has appeared in a multitude of sites, no where could I find the name of the author. And so I will share this as one of the “Author Unknown” treasures that somehow fell into my life just as that true friend has. And I dedicate it to those special people….those true friends…. who grace your lives today, tomorrow, and always! For my friend…………….

___

Friendships!
 
As we walk our path of life,
We meet people every day.
Most are simply met by chance.
But, some are sent our way.
 
These become special friends
Whose bonds we can’t explain;
The ones who understand us
And share our joy and pain.
 
Their love contains no boundaries.
So, even we are apart.
Their presence enhances us
With a warmth felt in the heart.
 
This love becomes a passageway,
When even the miles disappear.
And so, these friends, God sends our way,
Remain forever near.

___

“This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.”

John 15:12-15 NKJV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

