Thought For The Day 03/21/14

Standard

No Perfect Time

 

Post 1104

___

the perfect time

___

The day which we fear as our last is but the birthday of eternity. 

Seneca

http://www.quotegarden.com/death.html

___

Written two years ago, I feel the pain today as fresh and sharp as I did then. You see, I had found out someone very dear to my family needed emergency surgery and lost the precious life she was carrying, in the process! And while she sounded fine the next day….vibrant and spunky and eager to be leaving the hospital where, we all must admit, that no one who ever wants to get better, should ever stay in for very long (I say that in all earnestness since my vocation once upon a time was the medical profession, and I saw first hand how much faster people recovered once they were home, sleeping in their own bed and surrounded by the people that love them), I can’t help but wonder if her cheerfulness was a mask….a false face….. being worn to keep the others in her life that love her so dearly, from worrying needlessly.

___

Now I must preface all I share about that day by telling you that she was young….not quite 20, and living some distance away from her parents, her grandmother, who is my best friend and even her God mother….my daughter.We were all rather surprised when we heard her news only a few days before that she was expecting.  This news was an even bigger surprise to me because I was there the moment she was born and cried her first cry. I was worried for this woman who will forever remain in my head as that baby I helped to bring into the world, all those years ago….and on my wedding anniversary, too! We wondered how she would manage the stressful days ahead of ever-expanding tummy and tiredness and somehow managing to create a home for one whose very life would rest in her hands for years to come. Had she thought about the sleepless nights and the worrying over where the money would come from for formula and diapers and clothes that seem to be needed in a bigger size every week? Had she thought about making sure this baby would be well-educated and grow into a well-rounded person? Was she prepared at all? Was the time right?

___

Suddenly it dawned on me that there is almost never a perfect time for bringing a child into the world. Despite our best efforts, some landmine always explodes under our feet at the exact time we think all of our ducks are suddenly lined up in a row. We are knocked off our feet and sometimes we fall into that pile of what were once our best intentions. However we are a race of living beings whose primary claim to fame is that we are resilient. When we get knocked down, we bounce back up on our feet again. We adapt and we cope. And yes, we hope that we learn from our mistakes but that doesn’t mean we are exempt from making new ones in the next second, minute, hour, day, week, month, year or lifetime.

___

But for now we mourn. For now we hope that the world did not just lost the next Einstein or Rembrandt or Shakespeare. For now we turn our hearts over to the one who lifts us and gives us the strength to continue on despite the fact that the message he just sent to us was “No”! We trust that this, too, is part of His master plan for this family and this young woman. And we trust that this will be a way to learn a bit more about the inner fortitude we are all blessed with and the courage that we all are armed with as we face each new day! Yes, we mourn today. But the sun will rise again tomorrow!

___

“The Lord called me before my birth; from within the womb He called me by name.”

Isaiah 49:1 (Living Bible)

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

