Thought For The Day 03/26/14

Standard

What Do Others See?

Post 1109

___

When-I-Look-Into-the-Mirror

___

You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair.  

Douglas MacArthur

http://quotegarden.com/age.html

___

Our years of care are worn on our bodies like a badge of courage but it seems as if we spend our days all too often trying to erase those very same effects of time. We spend thousands of dollars on lotions and potions in an attempt to rejuvenate our bodies and turn back time. Women cover their faces with powders and foundations and learn from an early age to artfully apply eye makeup to not just enhance what it is we think we should look like but to mask those flaws that we somehow find ourselves embarrassed by. We purchase foundation garments that make it hard to draw breath and carefully select clothing styles to hide bumps and bulges, as if we really are successful in the attempt! And you men reading this, do not for a single moment think that all of this doesn’t apply to you too! My husband who, for the most part is pretty comfortable in his own skin, refuses to buy a shirt with horizontal stripes because he thinks they expand his girth! And why? What things are we missing in life as we try to hide the very human side of ourselves?

___

What if every grey hair really was a trophy of or success in seeing our children reach adulthood or perhaps living with a partner for 40 or 50 years? Have we considered that every wrinkle might just be the tiny scar of our victory over temptation? Or perhaps every sun freckle might just be heralding to the world the moments we spent working….whether in our job or at home? Are the pounds we are struggling with from the children we brought into the world? Why then do we struggle so with showing the world, proudly, the very unique and special people we have become throughout our lifetime of years? Are we really that unhappy with ourselves and our accomplishments that we struggle so to mask the very nature of the portrait time has painted of the being that is each of us?

___

I am less uncomfortable these days about the real me than I was a few years ago. That does not mean I don’t want to do things that will help me to live more comfortably. I find myself moaning and groaning as I struggle these days to rise from a chair on knees that have passed their expiration date. My doctors and I know that the day is rapidly coming when Mother Nature’s handiwork will be replaced by Dr. Leighton’s handiwork and whatever company it is that manufactures artificial joints. This, however is not vanity but a realistic attempt to continue to live a life that is one of quality….as well as quantity. And that is all I can hope for, really. In fact, it is what we all should hope for. What it is that I want is for people to see, when they really look at me, is that I am someone of quality. That it is my heart that is kind. That it is my brain that looks for the solutions to the problems that friends bring to me every day! That it is my will to effect all the positive changes I can possible manage in the world in which I live! When really thinking about it, what could be more worthy and right?

___

With my moans and groans that inspired this blog, I began thinking about the people who lived during the early years of the Bible and was wondering if time was as hard on them as it seems to be on our 21st century population. But except for Methuselah, I honestly could not remember how old some of the people who made such an impact in the Old Testament were. So, like any 21st century person, I began a search on my computer! Just in case you are curious too, here is a list of the 10 oldest historic figures from the Bible.

___

1. Methuselah – 969 years.   Genesis 5:27

2. Jared – 962 years.   Genesis 5:20

3. Noah – 950 years.   Genesis 9:29

4. Adam – 930 years.   Genesis 5:5

5. Seth – 912 years.   Genesis 5:8

6. Kenan – 910 years.   Genesis 5:14

7. Enosh – 905 years.   Genesis 5:11

8. Mahalalel – 895 years.   Genesis 5:17

9. Lamech – 777 years.   Genesis 5:31

10. ???????

Enoch lived 365 years. He was walking with God and then disappeared.Could he possibly still be living? Maybe taken away by God like Elijah but not noted? This is spoken of in Genesis 5:23 & 24

___

But the godly will flourish like palm trees and grow strong like the cedars of Lebanon. For they are transplanted to the Lord’s own house. They flourish in the courts of our God. Even in old age they will still produce fruit, they will remain vital and green. They will declare, “The Lord is just! He is my rock! There is no evil in him!”

Psalm 92:12-15 NLT

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

