Thought For the Day 03/31/14

Standard

Three!

___

HolyTrinity with Mary

___

Weave in faith and God will find the thread.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/god.html

 ___

It’s been nearly two years since the moment I began to think about the old saying that “bad things come in threes” and I wondered just why that saying came to be and does it really hold water? And even when I tried to enter it into my search engine, did you know that no real answer was to be found?

___

Now I am both a sane and rational person for whom superstitions generally don’t come into play as I live my life every day. And yet, I had been trying my hardest to regroup from a tremendously stressful few days back then. You see, we had suffered a family death and my daughter became quite ill while we were out-of-state for the funeral services. In fact, we left…a hasty departure, indeed, but made so that we would be near her medical team should the need arise, which was a good thing considering that an urgent trip to the MD was the order for the day after we returned home!

___

So, sanity and rationality aside, I could not seem to stop myself from sitting there and wondering just exactly when the other shoe would drop, and number three would rear its ugly head! And even today, two years later, “Murphy’s Law” and those pesky threes seem the norm, rather than the exception! Which is why I found myself thinking about all of those sets of three that we all wish we could avoid like the plague… most of which I am certain you fear as well as I do!

___

3 Strikes & You’re Out
3 Mile Island
3 Ring Circus
3 Sheets to the Wind
3 Witches in Macbeth
3 Is a Crowd
3 Blind Mice
3 etc., etc., etc!

___

Now, all of the things I listed above are not just negatives on their face but also evoke feelings of sadness and even hopelessness and helplessness! In fact, if we examine those etc’s too, I am certain we all would come to the same conclusion with the remaining hundred or so of those bad threes! So doesn’t it fall into line that those negative feelings seem to propel us forward, head first into those doubts where we are forced to second guess every step we take? And would that not predispose us to tripping over and over…. repeatedly falling into those potholes along the road, until, at last, we reach that number three? And finally, we relax in the belief that we’ve met our “bad” quota!

___

Suddenly, another thing struck a chord when I was thinking about that grouping of three! When I sat here and tried my hardest to picture some very good groupings of three, there were only three that seemed to loop over and over in my mind!

___

The Holy Trinity (Father, Son, and Holy Ghost)  
The Three Wise Men (Casper, Melchior, Balthasar)
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness
(one of the most well crafted, influential sentences in the history of the English language)

___

I don’t know about you all, but I like this grouping of threes much more, as short as the list might be, especially the Holy Trinity! The whole work of creation and grace encompassed in this group of three divine persons, separate and unique and yet one, seems to me to be the ideal answer to the doubt we feel when those hopeless feelings threatens us with landmines along our journey in life!

___

And when Jesus was baptized, immediately he went up from the water, and behold,  the heavens were opened to him, and he  saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming to rest on him; and behold,  a voice from heaven said,  “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”

Matthew 13: 16-17 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-14 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

