Thought For The Day 04/01/14

Standard

These Are The Days Of Our Lives

Post 1115

___

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6054/6296528611_842e9f89e3_z.jpg

___

Some keep the Sabbath going to Church, I keep it staying at Home – With a bobolink for a Chorister, And an Orchard, for a Dome.

Emily Dickinson

http://www.quotegarden.com/nature.html

___

Think about the things that you do only once a year. Almost all of them are significant events that have long-term effects, for better or worse, on the quality of our lives. We visit our Optometrist, our Dentist and our Doctor  once a year. We value the health of our eyes, teeth and bodies and want to make sure that those who are trained to evaluate these things and to make recommendations as to our care of them, help us through all of the steps we need to implement as we strive to be our healthiest. We support the government programs that are vital for the safety and functioning of our country by our funding of them through our income taxes which we file every April 15th! We even celebrate important milestones but once every year including birthdays, anniversaries and special holidays. To celebrate them more often would somehow serve to diminish the importance of these special times, making them commonplace and less momentous. And many of us perform our duties once a year by attending Church during the Easter season or Synagogue on Yom Kippur. And then suddenly (or not so suddenly), other things become more important for the few waking hours we are blessed with every Saturday and Sunday. We find ourselves choosing family and fun time when we are not working, over God and faith and before we know it, another year has passed before we find ourselves entering the doors of God’s House once more. Now while quality time is vital to the health of the family dynamic, so is spiritual time necessary for the spiritual dynamic of the family.

___

I am not one who says that Church or Synagogue is an absolute must for every family every week. In fact, for many who work in the hospitality industry which is so vital to the economic health of my community, remembering the Sabbath and keeping it holy by attending services is a near impossibility. But not attending a place of worship is a far cry from not being a spiritual family where faith continues to play a prominent role. I shared a truism with you in my blog on  06/27/12, where I quoted something Dolly Parton, in the role of Truvy Jones, said in “Steel Magnolias”, “God don’t care which church you go to as long as you show up”. Today I am taking that Pearl of Wisdom one step further by amending it a tad; “God don’t care which church you go to just as long as you worship Him in your heart, even if the place you are doing that is in your own home”!

___

God centered worship is not restricted to where you are….only THAT YOU ARE! Sharing communal time within the family to pray, whether it is before joining to break bread or sitting together after a long and hectic day, in the comfort of your living room, helps to prevent the ongoing fragmentation of the family dynamic that has become so prevalent these days. And while it may not seem significant on the surface, just try to imagine what the cumulative effect of these shared times means over the course of a decade in the life of a young person. I have said it before and I must say it again. We are the best teachers our children will ever have. And if they observe us being kind to each other, they will model the same behavior as they grow. If they bear witness to joyful praise and become one with shared traditions within the family, such as prayer, they are likely to continue this as they grow and have families of their own. Children who know and love God don’t just happen….they are created and they are not created in a church or temple but in a home!

___

“So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead. But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.”

James 2:17-18 ESV

___

March 25th marked a special anniversary for me. And yet, in reality, it was also a day like any other in my life these days.  No, it was not my wedding anniversary. Nor was it the anniversary of my birth. No, it was the anniversary of the years that I have published a “Thought” daily on WordPress. On March 25th, 2011, I shared my very first post with you all! And while I wish there was more that I could give to the Almighty, I give all that I am able and I know that is enough….for Him and for me!

For you all…..here is that sharing of my heart. It was but the first of many that have since followed! And I want to thank you all, because if it wasn’t for you, this page would have never been!

Mandy

___

Hello World! Thought For The Day 03/25/2011

I like the idea of posting a thought for the day. Not only does it require us to spend some time in quiet contemplation but then encourages us to give our thoughts and feelings a voice. Somehow, even a few minutes of introspection does wonders for giving one a fresh perspective of the issue being questioned and can go far in turning confusion and inaction into a clear and definitive solution. Or perhaps it’s just God leaning over our shoulder and whispering the answer in our ear when we’re finally ready, willing and able to understand it!

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

