Thought For The Day 04/04/14

Standard

I Wonder As I Wander….Along My Path

Post 1118

___

People-going-for-a-walk

___

If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking.  Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk. 

Raymond Inmon 

http://www.quotegarden.com/walking.html

___

Have you ever wondered why it is a particular song becomes stuck in your head? I never used to but these days, anytime something a bit out of the ordinary seems to nag at me, I just figure God is trying to send me a message of some sort. And the fact that a song title and the music to that song seems to be looping over and over in my head can’t be coincidental considering it is a song about the birth of Jesus. Now this song, “I Wonder As I Wander”, is probably not a Christmas carol most of you know. And the amazing thing about my history with this song is that I sang it in my grammar school chorus more than 45 years ago. I went to public school and the fact that this song was performed in that type of setting makes my memory of it even more bittersweet!

___

We live in an era when our every movement seems directed by what is and is not PC. We have such a diverse collection of children who attend public school, it is just as likely that a child who is a Christian shares the classroom with a child who is Muslim or Jewish or Hindu. And because people in the United States have become empowered by the very freedoms we have been given and cherish, we consider it not just our right but our duty to speak up regarding anything which may be in direct opposition to our own personal code of beliefs.

___

I believe that in holding fast to this viewpoint, we are doing a disservice to our people and especially our children. What are we accomplishing  by this strict enforcement of the separation of church and state? We are, in effect, stealing from them the very important opportunity of learning about a variety of ethnic, cultural and religious traditions when we prohibit the sharing of this type of knowledge. And while we have chosen to relegate this type of education to our families, sadly, parental responsibility and involvement in the learning process is not what it once was or should be!

___

So join with me as I share with you that song whose memory remains a very sweet and special time of my own childhood. And perhaps, you might just choose to share its message with the little ones in your life who will not be afforded the opportunity, as I once was, of learning it in school! “I Wonder As I Wander” was written in 1933 by John Jacob Niles from a fragment of a song he heard sung during an evangelical church fundraising meeting. This hauntingly beautiful melody has been recorded down through the years by such notable artists as Jo Stafford, Burl Ives, Mahalia Jackson,Joan Baez, Barbra Streisand, Julie Andrews, Linda Ronstadt and many others.

___

I WONDER AS I WANDER

performed by Joan Baez

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Saviour did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all
But high from God’s heaven, a star’s light did fall
And the promise of ages it then did recall. 

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing
Or all of God’s Angels in heaven to sing
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King

 I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Saviour did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

To view a YouTube video, click the  embed link below:

___

If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.

1 John 1:6-7 (NIV)

___

http://mandyspathministry-ulc.webs.com

Copyright © 2012 “MandysPath” Ministry-ULC

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

