Thought For The Day 04/07/14

Standard

The Crimson Cord

Post 1121

___

http://www.artfire.com/

___

Love is the thread that binds us.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/needlework.html

___

I wrote the original version of this post on the car trip home from the funeral of my brother-in-law a little more than two years ago. I first posted it here on 04/07/12. And except for a few brief words of update, it is exactly as I first penned it!

___

Bill was the love of my sister’s life and the joy he gave her was beyond measure. But I know he is proud of the life my sister has carved out for herself following his tragic and sudden passing. You see, we know that no matter what joy or sorrow comes her way in the years ahead, He will be there…. a comforting presence…. reminding her that everything will always be all right!

Mandy

___

The days are running together as if the hand  of God has somehow  gathered together the hours into some miraculous circle where time has no beginning nor ending. I was asked to speak but somehow the time was no more. The line of friends who needed to say words of comfort seemed miles long and the second hand of the clocked sped around the dial with what seemed like supersonic speed.

___

I had needed to jot down my thoughts because I was afraid I would be overcome and begin to cry. I placed my carefully chosen words in his pocket…. hidden between the folds of his handkerchief. It somehow seemed appropriate that he carry them with him always.

___

I had wanted to speak of a crimson cord binding all of our hearts together. I had wanted to speak of the fact the it was not blood that colored it red but the life force of many hearts and of the love each of us felt for each other. I had wanted to tell everyone that the emptiness would be filled…. eventually…. by the happy memories we each had of the time we spent together with him.

___

I would always remember his smile the day, more that 28 years ago now, when I asked him if he was really prepared to marry my sister! Obviously, he was because they had a loving and wonderful marriage that had endured so much. And then I began to think of the special moments they shared. The day he kissed his new bride in the garden at the library. The day he walked his daughter Brynn, down the aisle. The day he was introduced to his brand new grandson Kayden by his son George. Vacations in Aruba with Diane and Gene. Watching the Phillies with Melissa, Brynn and Sean. Riding his “Hog”. Getting a tattoo. Keeping a multinational corporation on the straight and narrow as Director of Information Technology. And so many more that to record them all would require a ream of paper!

___

Whatever it is that we best remember of Bill will fill that emptiness little by little until the hurt is gone and only those happy times linger in out hearts. And this is all that measures the worth of a person. The length of that crimson cord and lives whose hearts were bound together, forever, by its strength.

___

I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

Revelation 21:2-4 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

