Thought For The day 04/12/14

Standard

No More

Post 1126

___

When we least expect it

___

The tragedy of life is not death but what we let die inside of us while we live.

Norman Cousins

http://www.quoteswave.com/picture-quotes/372847

___

When did I enter the second part of a century? It seems only yesterday I was wearing jeans with hair down to my waist and my whole life was yet to be discovered! My young adult/late teen years were completely normal for whatever normal was in the early 70’s. I adopted causes like other people change their underwear! When my environmental conscious side awoke, I protested my school bus whose noxious tailpipe emissions polluted the air I was breathing by riding my bicycle to and from school every day which was only 5 1/2 miles but felt more like 500 miles! And yet I smoked cigarettes and actually thought my parents would not notice, a point that has been driven home now that I am a reformed smoker who can sniff out the aroma of clothes plated by nicotine from 25 feet!  And, of course, like every teen of the day, I protested another unpopular war during what now seems like a lifetime ago!

___

I had never attended any of my High School reunions over the years. It always seemed like something was happening in my life that was more important. First there was work and I rationalized that the next reunion would take place in another 5 years, and that would be time enough for me to become re-acquainted with the friends of my youth. Then my children arrived and days of nurturing them coupled with being a wife and working full-time seemed like the perfect excuse to justify missing another one! But now more than 40 years have passed and it seems as if I have lost more than I can ever get back by sacrificing those once in a lifetime opportunities.

___

Since 2011, I have learned of the passing of 4 classmates. In fact, just a few short years ago, my very first love from way back in 1968 and I, reconnected through Facebook. I was so looking forward to seeing him on December 28th, 2012, at the 40th reunion of the Easter Regional High School (Voorhees Twp, NJ) Class of 1972 (which never happened as planned for a number of reasons). I had teased him the day before he passed away because of a picture he had posted where he was wearing a wig, which was more hair than any Mother Nature had adorned him with for the last 20 years.:((   And then, another guy I went through both grammar and high school with, passed away 2 days ago.:((  My husband commented that we might just need to accept this rite of passage because of our age, to which I replied at the age of 80, maybe, but not at 60 years!

___

I’m tired of being forced to face more regrets that are of my own choosing and making! NO MORE! I regret that I did not spend more time with my sister and brother-in-law while I had the chance to. NO MORE! Even though my brother-in-law is gone now, my sister has an open invitation to come and stay with me and that includes her bringing her rescued puppy with her! I regret that I did not attend a HS reunion.NO MORE! I regret that I do not do more with Dan to have fun!NO MORE! When he says “Let’s go”, I’m going to reply, “Let me get my purse”!

___

REGRETmight be a 6 letter word but it is as nasty and distasteful and hard to swallow as any 4 letter one I can think of. I am choosing to abolish it from Mandy’s dictionary! And while this particular post may have been one of the more “secular” ones I have written in a very long time, the message that I am sharing is most assuredly one of divine inspiration and one I think will meet with the approval of my Heavenly Father!

___

“Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you.”

Philippians 3:13-15 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

