Thought For The Day 04/19/14

Standard

Four $1.00 Bills

Post 1133

___

homeless-man-and-dog

 ___

The purpose of life is not to be happy – but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all. 

Leo Rosten

http://izquotes.com/quote/289989

___

 

The other day I visited a wonderful Christian store with locations throughout the United States. And since this store is located at the south end of Myrtle Beach, adjacent to a large mall, I figured I’d “kill 2 birds with 1 stone” and stop in at a large bedding chain store while I was there, to pick up some mini coffee pods for my Coffeemaker (since I quit smoking, my coffee has become a must for me). OK, move over Edith Bunker….to make a long story even longer…. I was in my car leaving the mall when I realized that I had been overcharged for my purchase, and I had to turn around, park and go back inside to get my money back….which I did.

___

It wasn’t much money, but I tossed the refund in the cup holder of my car, and left once again. My drive home took me through an intersection in an area of Myrtle Beach that is more run down than most areas, and as I was pulling to the traffic light I glanced out my window and saw a man holding the most extraordinary sign. I had actually passed him before the words really registered: “Homeless & Hungry. Even if you can’t help, God bless you!” My heart gave a lurch, I stopped, threw the car into reverse and backed up. I suddenly knew that the money refunded to me wasn’t really meant for me to keep……it was given to me so that I could give it to this man. It was not much but when I rolled down my window and handed it to him, he started crying and said over and over “God bless you”. I trusted that he would use it for its intended purpose and in my heart, I know he did! I also knew that I needed to do more.

___

Early today I visited another chain store whose numbers are so great, that nearly every town in the United States can boast at least one contributing tax receipts to the local economy. Anyway, I went to the section where you can buy travel size items for personal care. I picked up small soaps, tooth brushes, tooth paste, combs, new wash cloths and I took them home and found clean towels I was going to donate anyway, and made care packages. I put these packages in a box in my car.

___

Now I am not planning to go out and seek out those who are disenfranchised, but the next time I see someone I know is in need, I will give them one of these packages. The cost was minimal but the feeling of joy doing this will give me is beyond measure. It will be my way of giving back to my community and making a difference. And as I smiled, suddenly I remembered another who journeyed, giving His very own gifts to those who were often outcasts, as well. In fact, sick, sinner, and desperate…..He turned none away who came to Him for sustenance. And while His gift was not for the body, it was, indeed, a salve for the spirit!

___

Now while I do not count my small offering as worthy as those He gave, I somehow suspect that He is pleased with what I am doing. So why don’t you all join me and start your own special project for helping others! You might not change the world by what you do, but you might just change the world for one person!

___

 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” 

Matthew 25:35-40 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

