Thought For The Day 04/24/14

Standard

Doing What You Are Meant To Do

Post 1138

___

http://www.facebook.com/#!/backtowardslight

___

Every one of us has in him a continent of undiscovered character.  Blessed is he who acts the Columbus to his own soul. 

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/self-discovery.html

___

I saw a post this morning which really struck a chord with me and has given me pause to wonder if, at last, I am doing what I was destined to do with my life? And, more importantly, am I doing with my life that which God is asking that I do?

___

This man whose story I saw today was the son of an Air Force General and an accomplished Golden Gloves boxer. He graduated from Pomona College with a B.S. degree and then became a Rhodes Scholar from Oxford University. He joined the U.S. Army at the prompting of his father.  After graduating from Officer Candidate School he graduated from both Army Airborne and Ranger training in  the top of each class.  He was selected for U. S. Army Special Forces Training but he decided instead to undergo pilot training where he earned his wings, and became a helicopter gun ship pilot, achieving the rank of Captain. After he was selected for promotion to Major and assigned to teach at West Point, he resigned his  commission from the Army to go into music and acting. To whom am I referring? This very famous person who found the need to rewrite his life is, none other, than Kris Kristofferson! And I just can’t help but wonder at the degree this change was other directed!

___

I, too, know all about rewriting a life. If you had asked me 15 years ago where I saw myself today I would never, in a million years, have said right here, in front of my computer, writing this blog and sharing my thoughts and my hearts desire with hundreds of people I have never laid eyes on before! I would have never said I would be doing an hour-long radio show every week about faith on an internet radio station. I would never have said I would be involved in community activism and working my hardest to help give children who are in the system in my community a voice! And then again, 15 years ago……was the time of the old Mandy!

___

I had earned my Bachelor of Science degree in nursing and had received additional certification in the nursing field. 15 years ago, I was working as a Certified Case Management Nurse for people who had suffered severe, life altering trauma. I was working every day in “The Big Apple” in the heart of Midtown Manhattan! I left home at 4:45 AM and returned home at 6:45 PM (on a good day)! I crammed life with my children into the few paltry hours that I had remaining! Quality time with my husband was a distant memory. Spending time with my parents was not in the cards!

___

Suddenly, God intervened! In the blink of an eye, life as I knew it ceased and Mandy was suddenly born anew…..thrust into a world I was not prepared for. No one expects illness to cause paralysis. No one expects to fall breaking bones so severely that surgery and a month-long hospitalization and rehab stay becomes necessary! No one expects to find themselves with wheels replacing legs! No one…. no HUMAN…. knew any of this would happen……… except for one! And He is, most assuredly, not human! The one that directed this calamity to befall me was GOD!

___

He led me along a path He knew I would need to travel. Slowly and after many, many months of painful and hard work, I was walking again. And that is my miracle! It did not happen suddenly and it is not always the way things are nor is it the way it might always be. The disease I have can exacerbate at any time. Tomorrow, I might just find myself back in that wheelchair! But for now, I am upright and alive. And I allowed the Almighty to enter my heart and let me know what it was He expected of me. And I listened! And here I am!

___

 For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich.

2 Corinthians 8:9 NIV

This is my birth verse! It fits perfectly with my life’s story, don’t you think?

If you are interested in seeing yours, visit the website below!

http://www.birthverse.com/

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

