Thought For The Day 04/28/14

Standard

Waxing Nostalgic

Post 1142

___

Aging-Face1

___

“No matter how much time passes, no matter what takes place in the interim, there are some things we can never assign to oblivion, memories we can never rub away.”

Haruki Murakami

“Kafka on the Shore”
http://goodreads.com/work/quotes/6191072

___

I am waxing nostalgic today. You see, it is the anniversary of the day exactly one year ago, that I was forced to face the realization, that our relationships with those we love are fleeting and finite. Yes, I knew it to be so….in my head, at least. I watched my grandparents age and pass away as well as my mother. But I had not thought about it in terms of Dan or myself, despite the fact that we have both battled our share of illnesses over the years. After all, aren’t we the same people who wore Nehru jackets, bell bottoms and love beads only yesterday?

___

Yes, I am not blind. I see a face looking back at me from the mirror that looks vaguely like the one I see when I close my eyes….albeit a bit “fluffier” and “grayer”. But I never thought about my life in terms that find me rapidly approaching my twilight rather than my dawn. But when my love developed chest pains, and I thought a heart attack was at hand, that is the singular moment that I knew all bets were off that we still had 50 years of living left to do….together.

___

James 4:14 NIV, reminds us about the brief time of man’s existence. “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” And I supposed this is why we must “Carpe Diem” and run with it as fast as we can. We must see each dawn with a new eye and a renewed appreciation for all of the things we have, up till now, tended to take for granted. But never forget the caveat contained in 1 Corinthians 10:23 NIV, “I have the right to do anything,” you say–but not everything is beneficial. “I have the right to do anything,”–but not everything is constructive.”

___

Embrace those who matter, but embrace those who don’t, even more. And no, I am not thinking about the adage, keep your friends close but keep your enemies closer. I am asking that we always remember that when the day of judgement  is at hand we will not be measured by what we have but by what we do. It’s not enough to be good at living. Instead, we must make our living, a living for good!

___

Live, Laugh and Love with your near and dear and not so dear, because the gift of today’s joy may not be there for us as we turn the corner into tomorrow! It is something I will remember from this day forward as I banish the words “for worse” from my vocabulary. I vow that the days I share with the man I love will always be “for better”, from this day forward, whether it is for 1 day or 100,000 days!

___

“You therefore, beloved, knowing this beforehand, be on your guard lest, being carried away by the error of unprincipled men, you fall from your own steadfastness.” 

2 Peter 3:17 KJV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

