Thought For The Day 05/13/14

Standard

Dreck

noun Slang .

1.     excrement; dung.
2.     worthless trash; junk.
Post 1157

___

___

To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music the words make. 

Truman Capote

 McCall’s, November 1967

http://www.quotegarden.com/writing.html

___

I guess I have arrived! I actually wondered exactly when it would happen. I expected that it might be from a stranger who perhaps had a differing opinion of faith, and yet, it was not. It actually arrived as a comment from a friend on a shared social media site, although not a close friend nor someone I have ever met face to face. We had a connection outside of that site but that aside, I do not really know this person well. Nevertheless, this comment, proved to be a huge surprise to me.

___

Now I am equally sure that it will not be the last negative one I receive and I will more than likely be just as surprised when it happens again as I was this first time. And yet, just as surely as we pay taxes here in the USA every April 15th and the sun will set tonight, there will be another dissatisfied reader, one day!

___

Two years ago, the person in question, criticized my sharing the picture above. He wrote the following to me:  “Where do you get this dreck, not from the bible.” Well, in fact, it does come from the Bible. Hebrews 13:2 NIV is, in fact, where the words are held. “Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.”

___

Now it’s important to understand that the things I choose to share are ALWAYS something that has touched my heart in a positive way. Sometimes I want to make a point relating to some circumstance that I have encountered, usually relating to faith, although not always. Sometimes I choose to share something about a cause I embrace, especially about my passion regarding the welfare of some of God’s smallest miracles…..children and animals. And sometimes I post something just for the beauty and joy the words seem to evoke. That was the case with the picture in question.

___

I chose to post the picture you see above, which came from  a Facebook page, “Rest In The arms of Angels” (http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Rest-in-the-Arms-of-Angels/164081253667227 ) because, to me, the words were pure magic of poetic thought. No they do not discuss some absolute of religious teaching. But they do come from the Bible! And yes, I intended to share these words for the simple “feel good” sense that washed over me when I read them. Plain and simple, the words contained in the picture tugged at my heart-strings! They also reinforce a position that I have talked about before…..that there are angels all around us in this world. If you don’t believe me, just re-read my “Thought For The Day 05/12/14”, entitled “For She Who Nurtured Us”! Now does the Bible support everything I shared in that post? No! But does that mean that it isn’t fact? Absolutely not!

___

I believe that it is our responsibility to stir the pot sometimes and challenge the assumptions that some people hold. Does this sometimes make people uncomfortable? Oh, you betcha! Any time someone shares an opinion in a public forum that differs from our own, it is frequently the natural and expected response to find some people squirming in their seats.

___

I am humbled and grateful that people care so much about the things that I write that they are sometimes moved to challenge not just my words but my posts of pictures, as well. After all, people who chose to write or speak publicly hold a tremendous power and with that power comes tremendous responsibility. We can not challenge the beliefs of others without finding some out there who will disagree with what it is we say. But to that end I say, please…..bring it on! You see, I am the first person to admit that I don’t know it all….not by a long shot! I am always looking to learn from others, just as I hope you all read my posts to learn a little something from me. I am growing and evolving and this is a good thing. The question then becomes are you willing to grow and evolve with me?

___

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

Hebrews 4:12 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

