Thought For The Day 05/15/14

Standard

Are You Living The Safe Life?

Post 1159

___

 http://i.mobavatar.com/wiser-than-you/take-a-chance.jpg

___

Many great ideas have been lost because the people who had them could not stand being laughed at. 

Author Unknown

___

 How many of you have experienced a day like the one I’m about to describe? Have you ever found  the simple act of rising from a chair to go to bed makes you want to raise your arms and cry “UNCLE”? How about a day when simply getting undressed becomes too much work that you find yourself falling into bed with clothes, shoes and even eyeglasses still on? Well, those days seem to be the norm lately for me rather than the exception to the rule which is why I found myself needing to sit back, collect my thoughts and dissect why I seem to be stuck in a phase where life and all of its components seems to be ganging up on me, each little piece a hired assassin whose mission it seems to be to put me 6 feet under? When did I become someone who would allow myself to be abused by fate? Is my faith not really that strong within me to allow me triumph over the landmines planted along my path?

___

And then, suddenly, an amazing thing occurred to me! There are no mistakes in life. There is only the chance for life to teach us lessons on becoming a better and more spiritual human being. But, we accomplish none of this without daring to take a chance and make a stand!

___

We are always afraid of something as we navigate life’s waters. Life is scary because to live it fully requires opening our heart, mind, body and soul to the scrutiny of others. And if there is one thing that scares the pants off most people, it is the potential for being rejected by others in life! But why? There are few certainties in life more profound than one important fact that exists for every single human being……. we will all die. It is an absolute that is affixed to us all from the moment we are born! And if that is the end of life’s journey for each and every one of us, why then do we not seize every opportunity that comes our way and embrace life to its fullest?

___

I do not want my epitaph to read…..”She Lived A Safe Life!” I want my epitaph to read…..”She Seized Every Opportunity!” I want it to read…..”She Lived Life And Made  A Difference!” When I am old and bent and gray and frail, I want to be able to look in the mirror and see the sparkle in my eye, and look back at the years that have passed and I want to say, “WHAT A RIDE!”

___

 “Yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.”

James 4:14 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

