Thought For The Day 05/20/14

Standard

The Grim Reaper

Post 1164

___

grim-reaper

___

When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.”  

Erma Bombeck

http://www.great-quotes.com/quotes/category/Life+And+Death

___

It is impossible to even consider life and especially, life everlasting without thinking about its opposite…..Death. Or perhaps more appropriately, the entity that we have come to think of as “The Angel of Death”, or even “The Angel of Dark and Light”! Yes, people have chosen to view Death in physical terms and while this personification of death as “The Grim Reaper” has existed for only the last 600 years, in reality, it was given form, in a way, as far back as the pages of ancient Hebrew, Catholic and Islamic texts. There are those who view this character as the one who carries out God’s wrath over the wicked. But even when we think about perhaps the strongest evidence of Death from a Biblical perspective, which presents this dark presence in Exodus 12, in describing the deaths of the first born of the house of Egypt happening in a way that none can ever forget!

___

“And you shall take a bunch of hyssop, and dip it in the blood that is in the basin, and strike the lintel and the two side posts with the blood that is in the basin; and none of you shall go out at the door of his house until the morning. For the LORD will pass through to smite the Egyptians; and when he sees the blood on the lintel, and on the two side posts, the LORD will pass over the door, and will not suffer the destroyer to come in to your houses to smite you. And you shall observe this thing for an ordinance to you and to your sons for ever…”

Exodus 12:22-24 KJV

___

Notice how the Bible actually references this entity as simply “Destroyer”. And it is this that remains the commonly used term throughout the tome, whether looking at the texts from their Aramaic or Greek origins! But no matter how you choose to think about or describe Death, the fact of the matter is, that to a human mind which is in perpetual need of proof in order to believe, anything that presents to us as a part of the great unknown, is also something to be feared or dreaded, no matter the degree we have tried to reconcile ourselves to the things we hold as absolute, such as what will happen to us when our living is no more! Simply stated, we fear the unknown and death is the unknown, therefore, we fear death, even though it is also one thing we know to be an absolute by-product of our living!

___

The thing is, that we fear death presumes that we have a reason for doing so. And the only reason I can think of is that we have sins for which we have not made our atonement. So if we die in our sins, then yes, death would, indeed, be a grim reaper coming for us. But for those who embrace the Christian philosophy, you must know that those sins have been blotted out by the death of the Son, whose sacrifice was our payment in full, for a lifetime of living….presuming you accept and believe that this is so! And while it’s coming may not be without some mortal pain, depending on what it is that will claim our final breath among the living, death can not hurt us, any more than undressing at night and putting on pajamas and falling asleep between our crisp, clean sheets, hurts us. And even better, we will not be going alone, because we have been promised that He will guide us there to make sure our arrival is assured. John 14:3 NIV, “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

___

Death is both the inevitable and natural process of life and the answer as to how it will come knocking will be ours to know in His time, rather than ours, assuming we do not live those lives in a way that invites its inevitability sooner than later. But like it or not, it is something we will deal with when it comes, and not a single moment sooner. So instead of fearing that which we can not control, why not focus our beings on that which we can control. Let us live life fully in the present and live it with not just a zest, but a compassion, as well. Let us show Him that we will be prepared to come to Him in His time with no regrets for the part of life’s journey that we make, that is within our capacity to control! LIVE every moment. LAUGH every day. LOVE beyond words. These three things are within our power to give to ourselves, so take them, and run, and LIVE, for all you are worth, because Death may show its face to you, unexpectedly!

___

Live Laugh Love 10

___

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.”

Psalm 23:1-6 (KJV)

___

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

Leave a Reply

