Thought For The Day 05/21/14

Standard

Life’s Bumpy Road

Post 1165

___

road_potholes

___

Were all born with the same size soul, everyone is born good. It’s choices along the bumpy road of life that changes us.

Author Unknown

http://www.searchquotes.com/search/Lifes_Bumpy_Road/

___

 

It seems as if I am still waiting. And waiting…… And waiting….. For what you wonder? I’m still waiting to experience a day where the road I travel doesn’t find me dodging a pot hole (or a few thousand potholes) as I live.

___

Every day starts out just about perfectly. Waking from a good nights sleep and feeling refreshed in the promise that I have been given a second chance at getting things in my life right, I start my day with the mundane tasks of walking the dogs and getting the newspaper. Juice poured, breakfast made, the newspaper completes our “rise and shine” ritual. But what happens when, for reasons unknown, the paper isn’t in the driveway? I don’t get flustered particularly easily (OK, maybe I do but I am working on it), but the other day, when our paper was missing, I absolutely didn’t know what to do with myself.

___

Now Dan took this little pothole in stride….he had played golf the morning before and hadn’t read that paper yet so he simply adapted, and picked up the previous day’s edition and caught up with world events. For Dan, the pothole was maybe 6″ across…a mere bump in the road! For me, the little pothole seemed to morph into a 6′ sinkhole. I paced and my morning coffee which usually results in a feeling of pure bliss somehow transformed into pure vinegar and caused acid reflux!

___

Dan and I shared exactly the same day….with the same pothole….and yet his emotional coping allowed him to continue on down the road, while my coping mechanism resulted in just the opposite…..a flat tire! Yes,  none of us are in control and that the hand that guides our collective destiny is God’s, but I am someone for whom structure usually is important in my life. It is the way life makes the most sense to me. Dan, on the other hand, is a “go with the flow” kind of guy.

___

There is no right or wrong here…..just what does and doesn’t work for each of us. The same principle applies to our faith. You see, Dan, having had the structure of education by religious, now prefers to see his faith in a broader and less regimented observance. He knows he is a good person who leads a good life as a loving and devoted husband, father and grandfather. He is content, happy and at peace with God, and this works for him. But for me, growing up as a Methodist and then raising my children as Presbyterians, gave me a certain religious perspective and structure, but as an adult, my need to worship, and the way I do so, has changed.

___

A few years ago, I spent every moment of every day dodging “potholes” in my spiritual life. Despite my trying my hardest to keep to the “rules” set up by organized religions, I still slipped up! And the harder I tried, the bigger those spiritual potholes became and I began to doubt not just the depth of my faith, but also my worthiness in attaining the ends to my means…..SALVATION! So my search became another 360* turn in the road.

___

Since I prefer the peace and introspection worship in my own home affords, I have chosen to join others in worship either on-line or on my television, cup of coffee in hand. Choosing to minister where I can guide, sustain and nurture the faith of others seems to be what I am seeking now, and I think is what will work the best for me. Which just goes to prove something very fundamental to our communion with God! A church is not a place always found within the confines of four walls. A church is a place found within every heart!

___

Now if I can just keep those pesky potholes from giving me a flat tire………………

___

And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works,so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Ephesians 2: 6-10 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

