Thought For The Day 05/22/14

Standard

Those Unsung Heroes

Post 1165

___

UnsungHero

___

The ordinary man is involved in action, the hero acts. An immense difference.  
Henry Miller
American Author and Writer, 1891-1980

http://www.portraitofahero.com/

___

 

Once not so long ago, I was looking at the prayer requests on the “Jesus Daily” application that I downloaded for my mobile phone, and I realized something amazing. Nearly every prayer request asked was on behalf of another and not a request for intervention for the petitioner. Is it really true that we have learned to put the cares and concerns and welfare of others above our own needs and well-being? Am I this generous of heart as well? Do I truly temper my thoughts with the words we, us, you, they, and ours instead of I, me or my?

___

I know thinking about the welfare of a collective group is easiest for me in terms of my family because I would give up my life for any of them should the need arise and be thankful to my Maker that I had the opportunity to do so. But courage like this for acquaintances? Perhaps! For strangers? I am not so sure.

___

I know there are some people who seem to have a built-in “hero gene”. These are the people, like the Secret Service agents entrusted with protecting our Commander-in-Chief, who can step between the President and the assassin’s gun! Or the soldier standing his ground and firing his weapon at the approaching enemy, allowing his comrades in arms the opportunity of escape. These people are very special indeed, and very few and far between. But then I gave some more thought to the definition of the word hero and I realized that there are more heroes out there who never get credit for their deeds….but who are, none the less, heroes to the people they help.

___

The person who stands up on the crowded city bus and gives up his seat to an elderly person might not seem to be a hero but his action was selfless and certainly heroic to the person who benefitted from his action. The person who pulls his car over to the side of the road to allow an ambulance to pass safely is a hero to the person being rushed to the hospital. The person who stops their car and lets the young mother with the cart full of groceries and a little one in the child seat, cross the parking lot, is most certainly a hero to that tired young mother.

___

An insurance company has been airing commercials over the last few years, that shows people simply doing a caring deed, the act of which is paid forward by each person helped. The deeds were not great ones, but simple, everyday, acts of kindness to another human being. And that is most definitely, the kind of hero I know I can be. I can choose to be kind, and considerate, and thoughtful and respectful to everyone. The “hero gene” kind of hero? I doubt I will know unless and until the situation arises. But I like to think that somewhere, deep inside, that “hero gene” lays hidden, only to surface when it will be needed the most!

___

Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads, with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness.

Romans 12: 6-8 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

