Thought For The Day 05/27/14

Standard

Music Is A Hug For All Who Are Touched By It

Post 1170

___

christian-music

 

___

Musick has Charms to sooth a savage Breast,
To soften Rocks, or bend a knotted Oak.
I’ve read, that things inanimate have mov’d,
And, as with living Souls, have been inform’d,
By Magick Numbers and persuasive Sound.
What then am I? Am I more senseless grown
Than Trees, or Flint? O force of constant Woe!
‘Tis not in Harmony to calm my Griefs.
Anselmo sleeps, and is at Peace; last Night
The silent Tomb receiv’d the good Old King;
He and his Sorrows now are safely lodg’d
Within its cold, but hospitable Bosom.
Why am not I at Peace?

 William Congreve

 The Mourning Bride, 1697

___

Today is a day I need a hug. I do not need the world. I do not need riches. I do not need gifts. I need the comfort that a hug will give me. A hug, after all, is a balm for the very soul, don’t you agree?!?!?!?

___

What is it about hugs that make us feel so much better? Well, I know that it’s not a physical or sexual human response like the way we feel when we kiss. Rather, it is, plain and simply, the closeness that is afforded by a human connection. It is a reminder of a time in our lives most do not even remember, when the cares of the world did not weigh us down. It is a time when our needs were as basic as being clean and warm and sated. It is a soothing cuddle that encompasses our very soul, soothing our angst just as surely as our mother’s embrace assuaged the fears of the tiny baby we once were. And probably most importantly, a hug opens our hearts to not just life’s possibilities but love’s possibilities, as well!

___

So, my friends, since I need one and I can not reach out to you bodily to share a hug with you, I offer to you a spiritual hug. I offer it by my words. And I offer it by reminding you that through our faith, there is a spiritual hug that we all have been given by another, who paid a dear price for the loving embrace He has given to us. And since just 2 days ago, we celebrated the Sixth Sunday of Easter, I thought what better way to reach out to you all that by sharing a wonderful song by a young and very gifted Christian musician, Wess Morgan, who learned the hard way, just exactly what the value of a hug really is.

___

Singer, recording artist, pastor, and director Wess Morgan took the long and hard road in finding his calling in life. The son of Pastors Joseph and Yolanda Morgan, Morgan spent his childhood traveling and singing gospel with his parents and his siblings. At the young age of ten, though, he began using drugs and drinking, which led to several jail sentences and a whole lot of time in recovery centers before he finally emerged from his cycle of substance abuse. Helping others who had taken the same unfortunate path became Morgan’s mission in life and he eventually established the Repre Foundation, a nonprofit organization focused on drug and alcohol prevention and recovery. He also founded Bowtie World Music, a music and film production company. Morgan’s debut album, “Look at Me Now”, was released in 2007, and was quickly embraced by the Christian and gospel communities, allowing him to tour and promote his foundation and mission. A second album, “Under an Open Heaven”, appeared in 2010.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm4289510/bio

“You Paid It All” was a new single that Wess Morgan released on Good Friday (March 29th, 2013), and although it is not part of a larger musical collection released as an album, it is widely available as an MP3 download for purchase.

___

“YOU PAID IT ALL”

by Wes Morgan

(Verse 1)
Unselfishly died on Calvary
Oh how you gave your life for me
Bruise, scorn, crown your head with thorn, no greater love before , fore me
Nails in your hands, nails in your feet, pierced in his side could barely breathe,
Could a came down, but yet you remain
Standing in all of the price you paid

(Pre-Chorus)
I never knew of a love so true
You gave your life and still I hurt you
Lost so many times, crucify you again, but I repent
Forgive me for my sins

(Chorus)
You paid it all , up on the cross
You bled and died, cause I was lost
So here I am, surrendering all
Lord hear my cry, on my knees I fall
You paid it all , all , you paid it all , you paid it all , all , all you paid it all .

(Verse 2)
I realized I’m no good (oooooh) and no money I can pay
An exchange for the blood, you shared, shared for my sins (shared for my sins, yeah)
So I surrender my heart, my life ,by all, as a living sacrifice Lord I give up everything that’s not pleasing in your sight, so I can have everlasting life

(Pre-Chorus)
I never knew of a love so true
You gave your life and still I hurt you
Lost so many times, crucify you again, but I repent
Forgive me for my sins

(Chorus)
You paid it all , up on the cross
You bled and died, cause I was lost
So here I am, surrendering all
Lord hear my cry, on my knees I fall
You paid it all , all , you paid it all , you paid it all , all , all you paid it all .

(Bridge)
You gave up your image, you sacrifice, so that this ol’ born can have everlasting life
You gave up your glory, so I can have my story
And I want to tell you Lord (ohh ohh)

You paid it all up on the cross, you bleed and died (ooooh ohh)

(Chorus)
You paid it all , up on the cross
You bled and died, cause I was lost
So here I am, surrendering all
Lord hear my cry, on my knees I fall
You paid it all , all , you paid it all , you paid it all , all , all you paid it all .

___

___


I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life. This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him. 

1 John 5:13-15 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

