Thought For The Day 05/29/14

Standard

WARNING

Post 1173

___

http://www.clevelandwomen.com/images/redhat/sueellen.jpg

___

WARNING

When I am an old woman I shall wear PURPLE

With a RED HAT which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired

And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

And run my stick along the public railings

And make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

And pick the flowers in other people’s gardens .

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old, and start to wear PURPLE!

___

I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it…. People think pleasing God is all God cares about.  But any fool living in the world can see it always trying to please us back. 

Alice Walker

 The Color Purple, 1982

http://quotegarden.com/wise-words.html

___

I am rapidly approaching the years when I really should be wearing purple with a red hat. And to be honest, it probably would suit me very well. I was born to be a carefree bundle of mischievousness! In fact, I have come to the conclusion that I have spent too many years living in a “congregation” of normal folk.

___

I worked every day at living and breathing and existing in what transpires for a “normal” existence. Since everybody defines normal a little differently, I guess what might constitute normal for me is not the same thing for everybody else out there! In reality, my normal was a very boring existence! I only saw my life in terms of how it related to, and fit in with, the lives of everybody else around me! I did not try to inspire others to be a bit more carefree or adventurous, because I had no idea how to be carefree or adventurous, myself!

___

I modeled my existence after the way I saw my parents and my grandparents live their lives. And while there is nothing wrong with living that way, I have to wonder at just what I might possibly have been missing by not picking flowers in other people’s gardens or walking around in the rain in my slippers! Now, today, I am forced to think about just exactly why we don’t try to discover our wild side a little more. After all, we probably all knew exactly that part of ourselves when we were teenagers, don’t you think? And don’t let me hear any of you say, “I am a Christian. I am above living vicariously!” Nonsense! Even people of faith need to let their hair down every now and then!

___

We live in a world and in a time where we have more choices than we possibly know what to do with! And sometimes changing up some of those things we have treated as absolutes for so very long, will open up for us a whole new world of possibilities! And while the Bible is pretty clear regarding what man’s purpose should be, especially in terms of keeping his commandments as well as honoring him with our lives and deeds, I can’t help but think that he would like us to accomplish this with not just a joyful heart, but with a song in out soul, as well! Is that not why we sing joyfully to him? We are told in Psalm 149:3 (NIV), Let them praise his name with dancing and make music to him with tambourine and harp.

___

I like to think that my God is a God who would smile down at me when I decide to walk barefoot in the grass singing at the top of my lungs in a purple dress with a red sun hat on my head. Somehow, I can just hear Him saying to me, “Way to go Mandy, my good and faithful servant! You are choosing to live your life praising me and all of my creations!” And do you want to know something else? I will never pass a field of flowers again without thinking about Him and thanking Him, and remembering all the blessings He is showering me with as He paints some of those flowers the most vivid colors of purple and red!

___

“Then David and all Israel played music before God with all their might, with singing, on harps, on stringed instruments, on tambourines, on cymbals, and with trumpets.”

1 Chronicles 13:8 NKJV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

