Thought For The Day 05/30/14

Standard

A Human Becoming

Post 1174

___

sperm_egg

___

I am not a human being; I am a human becoming.  

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/human.html

___

I often have said (to myself, anyway), “Woe to the person who might want to climb into my head and invade my mind!” You see, I am known to have my share of dark thoughts, hidden away from the prying noses of many. I know you may think just the opposite to be true, because most of you know me solely because of what I share here. And while I have been known to venture down a dark path now and again, it generally ends up spinning itself into a fable much like Aesop’s, complete with an up-beat and faith filled lesson, given at the end, for you to ruminate over. The thing is that my all too human side is often the ever-present albatross slung round my neck, in so much of my life.

___

  • I worry,  even though I know these words:

    Matthew 6:34 KJV, “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

  • I am often frightened, even though I know these words:

    Deuteronomy 31:8 ESV, “It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

  • I am sometimes poor in spirit, even though I know these words:

    Matthew 5:3 KJV, Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

  • I hate sometimes, even though I know these words:

    1 John 4;20 ESV, If anyone says, ‘I love God’, and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen.

___

I am human, and just like everyone else, I often hide the things that I do not want others to see…..and I hide it very well! So do you. So does everyone! Because I do not want you to think less of me because of my humanness! And then I remember my Lord and Savior, the human. And suddenly I can breathe once more. Because indeed, He was a human. Yes, Jesus was born sinless, as was Adam before the forbidden fruit. But unlike Adam who lost himself, Jesus did not. But that does not mean he remained ALWAYS both God and Man, in one. If He had, how would He have been able to really understand and sympathize with the very people He was sent to touch? Of course, the answer is, He couldn’t have!

___

Christ lived and breathed and ate and talked and fought and yes, wept all too human tears during His lifetime. You see, He walked and talked and did everything else within the limitations of the human body that He was given. And even after suffering and dying and being resurrected, He remained a man….albeit, a changed man from the days before His sacrifice was made….but still, a man. Which is why we see his ascension into heaven to sit at the right hand of His Father, as so exalted! You see, once He ascended, He became God once more! And yet, it is the time when He was man that makes the journey He made as He walked the earth so special, and one which we all can readily identify with! And I am so glad, because it teaches me that, in my very humanness, I too can look forward to the promise that I will one day dwell there, along side of Him! But for now, I still worry, I am still scared, I still hate sometimes and I am sometimes poor in spirit. Because I, too, am human. But one day……………………………

___

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2:9-11 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. Mandy, I am so impressed by your words of wisdom here…and glad I read it, especially today, as I am experiencing some dark days, loss of hope and joy. Your words give me courage to continue and look forward to better times and to trust in God even in the darkest days. 🙏 Maria

    • I am so excited that you not only read my post but that it provided a lifeline.

      I am a firm believer that He always gives His hardest challenges to His strongest believers. I also believe that the courage and strength we have in overcoming those challenges are a gift from Him, as well.

      Fear not and trust always!

      Hugs to you. Glad we found each other again!

      Mandy

Leave a Reply

