Thought For The Day 06/02/14

Standard

Truth And Consequences

Post 1177

___

___

What is tolerance?  It is the consequence of humanity.  We are all formed of frailty and error; let us pardon reciprocally each other’s folly – that is the first law of nature. 

Voltaire

http://www.quotegarden.com/prejudice.html

___

My life as I came to understand and know it to exist, it turned topsy-turvy not so very long ago. And one might think that because of it, I would be a changed person today. And, in fact, I am…..but not because of the reason some might think. You see, to understand these events, we need to travel farther back in time. 3 years ago, infact!

___

It was March, 2011 when I knew. You see, I underwent a revelation when God re-entered my heart and my life. Now I did not look for this to happen nor did not ask for this to happen. And it most certainly did not happen with a bang. In fact, it happened with something akin to a whisper! Nevertheless, it did, and I became affiliated with a group to help me as I sought to find my way along what was a new road winding through this new chapter in my life.

___

I began writing about matters of faith, opening my heart to the world and the result is what you are reading today!  I also began counseling others who sought out my help. In fact, for a time, I even developed an internet radio show which was building in popularity. But not content to allow this new-found gift to stagnate, I began working in other areas of community outreach services, and in the process, discovered that all of these were areas where I could not just live and grow with my newly discovered faith, but where I would, in sharing some of myself with others, be able to help them along their way in the world, as well. But much as so many good things sometimes come to an end, so did some of the things I had felt led to accomplish! AND, in the process, I found myself thrown into the middle of what just might be one of the biggest flaws of human nature that has been permitted by God as part of his gift of “Free Will” to everyone. I found myself being judged by man and, in the process, was also found guilty of certain things.

___

Have you ever wondered why human beings are so fond of judging people? Well, I am no expert, but to my mind, it is something that each and every one of us is guilty of doing at some point in our lives. I KNOW that I have been guilty of this very thing, myself! And yes, even though I tell myself over and over that it is not my place to criticize or judge others when suddenly, someone I know well (or even not so well), seems to do something so inane, ridiculous or horrible, that I simply can’t help myself. And before I can stop myself, I find that I am voicing my opinion about the matter…. sometimes to any and all who are within earshot.

___

Sound a bit familiar???? Yes, I am fully aware that, in reality, I only owe an explanation for how I choose to live my own life, to a select few such as my family and my Maker. But there it is, for all the world to witness. There I am, judging another where it is neither my right nor is it my responsibility, to do so! What is it about judgment that makes it so hard for us to let go of? Suddenly, it hit me like a thunderbolt! We judge others because, somewhere deep inside, we are somehow in conflict with He who created us!

___

I believe we all look to judge as a way of controlling our lives. By passing judgements on others, we are giving ourselves the power of self-determination. We seek to control the world in such a way that every act that takes place is the direct result of the human part of us seeking to become a god over our own little piece of the universe! In doing this, we are somehow establishing our very own, very human value system. We feed our egos thinking that only we know what is best for us! What we forget is that we are not effecting change in our world. Not really. Reality is and always has been, God’s domain. It is His purview! He set up every circumstance that transpires in every second of every day that we live. And ALL serves His purpose for our life.

___

I do not know why He chose this route for my life. But I am very fond of the saying, “When God closes a door, He opens a window”! I am discovering that all that has happened serves His purpose for who He needs for me to become. Yes, to quote the title of a post I shared just a few days ago, here I am….. “A HUMAN BECOMING!” And He most certainly has opened that window for me and my life, because I continue on, hopefully making a difference, albeit in a slightly different way, but in a way that is very much Mandy. Those hurdles I must vault has only served to enhance my faith and my ability to turn my cares over into His hands. And while I know that I am all too human and most likely will not ever be free of the very human need to judge others, I also know that having “walked a mile in another’s moccasins” has taught me to be more compassionate and loving and perhaps more understanding, as well.

___

When something occurs that causes me to want to don those robes of judge and jury, I hope I will stop, and think, and then carefully weigh what my next step will be. Perhaps I will even remember the wise words my mother repeated to me over and over as I was growing up: “Mandy, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all!” And with His help, I pray that my actions will never again include acting as judge, jury and executioner!

___

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

Matthew 7:1-5 ESV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

