Thought For The Day 06/03/14

Standard

One Of God’s Smallest Gifts

Post 1178

___

http://www.lollie.com/aawallpaper/priceless1024.jpg

___

If all the beasts were gone, men would die from a great loneliness of spirit, for whatever happens to the beasts also happens to the man. All things are connected. Whatever befalls the Earth befalls the sons of the Earth.

Chief Seattle of the Suquamish Tribe

from a letter written to President Franklin Pierce

http://quotegarden.com/animals.html

___

Today’s blog is a bit of a different post that my recent ones. Recently some dear friends of mine lost pets whom they loved very much and I think it’s time for another feel good post that I hope just might get some of you motivated to consider adding a pet to your household. And so this post I am dedicating with all the love I hold in my heart to my friends out there who pray for, advocate for, foster, nurture and place in loving homes some of God’s smallest blessings!

___

I am the proud owner of pets. My home is always dusty with paw prints on the couch and table. I have enough spots on my carpets that should I decide on replacing them as often as I probably should, I could keep Shaw and Monsanto and a dozen more carpet manufacturers in business for the next 25 years…..or until I go toes up, whichever comes first. My moldings are scratched because my oldest cat (now 17 years old) would never learn to use a scratching post, preferring the molding that surrounds every single doorway in my home. I kill vacuums like most people go through paper towels and in thinking about them as well, I might just be a wealthy woman had I the foresight to invest in paper products 40 years ago!

___

Yes, I am generally at the Vet every couple of months for one or another of my furry children, and I can state with some certainty that I am responsible for putting a few dozen children through college! I have been known to buy out the supermarket supply of a particular type of canned cat food which seems to be the only kind of soft food my finicky cats will eat! And I wouldn’t trade the stains, dust, hair, walks, money and work for all the tea in China! You see, I know exactly why God chose to gift the world with all of His small living beings. I see His wisdom in every lick, every nuzzle, every snuggle, every cat paw doughing me, every glance that comes my way from eyes that look at me with an indescribable love! I know His purpose! Pets are good not just for our physical being but our soul, as well!

___

Did you know that scientists have actually done studies that prove the benefits of pet ownership? Well just incase you doubt, the following facts have been proven in studies performed on households where pets abound (and the study does not just single out dogs and cats, either)! Pets force an otherwise sedentary population to adopt a healthier lifestyle which includes the exercise walking or playing with a pet provides. Having pets actually raises those happiness endorphins we all produce, serotonin and dopamine which makes us relax and feel good as well! Those who live alone are likely to suffer less from feelings of loneliness when they have a pet to care for. And pets can often be the catalyst leading to forming new relationships with other pet lovers out there. The burly guy throwing a frisbee on the beach to his dog surrounded by admirers of both sexes comes to mind! And even those people who suffer from devastating diseases such as Cancer or Alzheimer’s can often find help with not just issues of pain but other symptoms of behavior and bodily responses to the stress illness produces, by having an animal companion! And who out there doesn’t remember the feel good pictures painted in our minds of the relationships between pets and children through media productions including shows such as “Lassie” and “Marley and Me”? Did you know that children who grow up with pets have less risk of allergies and asthma, many also learn responsibility, compassion, and empathy from having pets?

___

I have become very involved with not just animal rescue groups and fostering programs through social media, but have also become an active participant in “Rainbow Bridge” memorials which are increasing in popularity these days. And in the process, I have discovered an entirely new world out there of others whose houses and furniture and door moldings look just like mine!

___

There are literally thousands of people all over the world who work closely with Vets in easing the grief that happens when a beloved pet passes away! I, for one, am proud and humbled to be counted among that number today! I support the many programs that seek to educate others in the benefits of adopting not buying your life long companion. But never for a single moment forget that IT IS A LIFELONG commitment to own a pet….perhaps 10, 15, or 20 years with a horse, rabbit, dog or cat; as many as 30 years or more with a bird. Unless you can commit to devoting a substantial number of years feeding, caring for and loving your companion, it might be better to choose a hobby that does not require total devotion on your part, to provide you with the stimulus and pleasure all human beings need! However, I for one, choose to be a pet mommy. And I would not have it any other way!

___

He makes grass grow for the cattle, and plants for people to cultivate— bringing forth food from the earth: wine that gladdens human hearts, oil to make their faces shine, and bread that sustains their hearts. The trees of the Lord are well watered, the cedars of Lebanon that he planted. There the birds make their nests; the stork has its home in the junipers. The high mountains belong to the wild goats; the crags are a refuge for the hyrax.

He made the moon to mark the seasons, and the sun knows when to go down.You bring darkness, it becomes night, and all the beasts of the forest prowl. The lions roar for their prey and seek their food from God.

Psalm 104:14-21 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

