Thought For The Day 06/04/14

Standard

Where Does Kindness Begin?

Post 1179

___

Kindness-Begins-With-Me

___

If you’re alone, I’ll be your shadow.  If you want to cry, I’ll be your shoulder.  If you want a hug, I’ll be your pillow.  If you need to be happy, I’ll be your smile.  But anytime you need a friend, I’ll just be me. 

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/best-friends.html

___

I have been recently reminded of the value of true friends. You know the people I mean. They are the ones that know you so well that they already know the answers as to what secrets lie in the recesses of your heart. They already know the content of your character. They already know your strengths as well as your weaknesses. They know when it is enough to be silent and they know when to say the hard things that we do not want to hear! They lift us up when we are down and they temper our hyper moments with the soothing that only true friends know how to speak. When we are lucky enough to be joined by the promises of forever love to this best friend, we count ourselves blessed indeed. But when we have this best friend in our life because they choose to walk beside us, we are sharing something very rare. And yet, never for a single moment forget that to have this type of relationship with someone else, we must first be a true friend to the others in our lives!

___

We live in times that challenge even the most noble and stalwart of individuals. Every temptation meant to weaken our fortitude is close at hand. It seems that Satan is drawing an increasing level of power from the hatred, bitterness and cruelty that seems to be so pervasive in today’s society. And then he delights in throwing all of this negativity in the path that we travel in hopes that we will somehow succumb to the temptation and trip and fall. The thing that Satan forgets is that most of us have 2 huge forces that we carry within as we travel along our way in life.

  1. Most people who live by right have an already existing, deep-seated, abiding faith in their hearts that is not likely to fall victim to Satan’s temptations.
  2. People seldom travel their pathway in life alone and on the off-chance that the journey begins alone, it is the friendships made along the way that make that journey so special and rewarding and increases the chances that it will be completed successfully, free and clear of the obstacles Satan places along the way!

___

Yes, life’s journey is not easy. It was not meant to be because we seldom appreciate the specialness of things that come to us too easily. But never forget that we have already been given a roadmap for the journey we are to travel. God’s Holy Bible provides us with a compass, warnings and encouragement for planning the route we will take. And yet we also have the choice to make decisions on our own about how we navigate life’s detours all along the way.

___

We will also encounter intersections as we travel and we will need to choose the turn we will make once we reach that crossroad.  It is the faith that we hold within our hearts that will help us to choose wisely. It will also be the wisdom we used in choosing those companions we want to join with us as we journey along the way. Choosing well increases the chance that we will arrive at our destination not just successfully, but whole, complete and fulfilled, as well. I know that so far I have chosen my friends wisely. But as I choose them, they also choose me! I can but hope and pray that I will be the same kind of friend to others that I ask for them to be for me.

___

If an enemy were insulting me, I could endure it; if a foe were raising  himself against me, I could hide from him. But it is you, a man like myself, my  companion, my close friend, with whom I once enjoyed sweet fellowship as we  walked with the throng at the house of God.

Psalm 55:12-14 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

