Thought For The Day 06/05/14

Standard

A Pied Piper And The Power Of Prayer

Post 1179

___

___

Adolescence is a period of rapid changes.  Between the ages of 12 and 17, for example, a parent ages as much as 20 years.

Author Unknown

http://izquotes.com/quote/290776

___

I witnessed the most remarkable thing last night. I was on a social media site when, all of a sudden, within seconds, dozens of tweets that transitioned into posts on the page… right in front of my eyes. And these posts came from teenagers from all over the country. Now I don’t tweet. I’m not even sure what a tweet is except as a sound coming from a cage inhabited by a feathered creature. But there, in front of my eyes, kids were instantly connecting in heartfelt concern for a person I’m betting most of them hadn’t ever met. From Alabama, Indiana, Missouri, California and dozens of other states, teens from all over, many of them members of different Youth Ministry Teams, were connecting and praying together. What an amazing thing to witness!

___

Today we tend to see our youth as hedonistic and egocentric. They are just beginning to learn the things they need to understand to assure a relatively smooth (and sometimes even a bumpy) transition into adulthood. Yes, the ultimate goal is to develop a generation of successful, caring, and nurturing adults. But as they learn these lessons, they are spreading their wings and sometimes the choices they are making at this time of their lives, are choices that might just curl your toes. You see, so many of today’s youth don’t have the proper guidance at home which we know is so essential at this time of raging hormones and impulsivity. And without that guidance, some will fall through the cracks and become a statistic in our criminal justice system. But……..every once in a great while, a special someone enters our lives……a someone with the gift to guide, inspire and teach.  Almost a “Pied Piper”, the people I am thinking about have some magical gift that enables them to connect with the youth of America. They are leading them to Christ! And they is succeeding…………..in spades!!!!!!!!!!

___

Last night a plea was sent out. It was a plea to begin an avalanche of prayers. And pray they did! Dozens and perhaps even hundreds, of strangers, joined together and offered heartfelt prayers to the Lord on behalf of a person in need. And the prayers were answered, because this morning we have learned that things are much improved and that there has been a positive response to treatment.

___

So, the next time I become frustrated at some action I witness by a young person and stranger alike, I will remember last night……a night when so many thought not of themselves, but rather, were thinking about another. I will remember the dozens that I saw, and the hundreds of others that I did not, all coming together in Christ….to effect a positive outcome in the life of one person… a stranger. And I will remember that there is hope for the future of mankind!!!!

___

Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress. He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea[a] were hushed. They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven.

Psalm 107: 28-30 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

