Thought For The Day 06/20/14

Standard

Why Do Bad Things Happen To Good People?

Post 1195

___

let Him carry you

___

When the world says,
“Give up,”
Hope whispers,
“Try it one more time.”
Author Unknown

___

Those “8 little words” are probably the hardest 8 words to understand on their face, never mind trying to put them into perspective in the life of a Christian. About the only thing I can say with certainty about those “8 little words” is that to say them pre-supposes a faith in God Almighty. While I have no friends who are atheists I suspect that those words would not be spoken often in their lives because they do not know God nor have the faith in their lives that would support a need to explain a bad outcome in a personal life experience. For them, the explanation would be…”it simply is”. But for those people of faith, those words support a belief in an omnipresent being who controls all things in our world. Those “8 little words” are an accusation we bring to God because we don’t understand the reasoning for a bad occurrence and because we want, as a people of faith, to know that God is not forsaking us.

___

In a loss in our lives, it is my belief that the faith we have in God allows us to experience and rely upon His  strength, His comfort, His sustaining love and His assurance in the face of the evil and horrors that exists in our world. We can look to God to sustain us in and nurture us through our grief. And while we may not understand His reasoning, faith tells us that all serves His purpose for the journey our lives take while we walk on earth. And for me, my belief that God walks with me daily is what allows me to get through the hard times that challenge me…. even when it seems that those difficulties seem to be an ever-present companion in my life. So my question must be, can you say the same?

___

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:29-31 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

