Thought For The Day 06/25/14

Standard

 

The Fur Menagerie

Post 1200

___

 

Peewee

Misty

Skittles

Salem

___

It is as if life had said, “I am going to send you into a world of cruelty. I shall make you sensitive to pain, fear, heat, cold, hunger and starvation. In this world of cruelty, I shall make you defenseless. In addition, I shall strike you dumb.” This is the kind of world that animals are born into.  

Grace Johnson

http://www.utahhumane.org/about-us/investigation/cruelty-quotations

___

Along “MandysPath” you will find Mandy’s Fur Menagerie! Stop in and visit sometime….and while you’re at it, feel free to bring a can of Alpo, Lil’ Friskies or some clumping litter. When you visit me, know ahead of time that my house is dusty, that my furniture is spotted, as are my rugs. Yes, I am a fairly clean person. I vacuum sometimes 2x a day, dust constantly and damp mop my floors regularly. And I have 4 legged children who live here. (In fact, they pretty much tolerate Dan and me because they don’t have thumbs to open the food cans.) This is their home as much as it is ours. And if the truth was known, I’d have more like them, if I could (though after the trips we’ve needed to make to NY and to hospitals, we may be hard pressed to find Sabrina amenable to critter sitting considering it entails my 4, her 1 dog and a 4-year-old…. all at the same time!)

___

All of my “wee furry bairns” (as well as Sabrina’s) are rescued. I am constantly amazed at people who can see an animal as without feelings and abuse them, starve them or abandon them to the elements. It makes me wonder just exactly how these same people treat other human beings in their lives. Are they kind and thoughtful to people just because they walk upright or are their hearts just as black towards humans as they are towards innocent creatures?

___

Misty Cat, is a medium-haired Tabby, and is the grande dame of our home at 17, rescued from some abusive kids who were giving her liquor as a tiny kitten.  Pee-wee Dog is about 11, a long-haired Chihuahua, and was adopted from the Humane Society. Skittles Dog is 7, a “Heinz 57”, and was the product of an elopement from the yard by her mama. She was adopted by us to make sure she did not end up in a shelter. And finally, Salem Cat, is a Mackerel Tabby, about 5, and was rescued roaming around our development. He was half-starved but definitely not feral.

___

Every one is different but each is special to us. When they look into my eyes I see the love they feel for me and I get that warm, fuzzy feeling every parent of a human child recognizes. It’s the way your heart jumps when your child wraps their arms around your neck and squeezes tight! Are these non speaking children of mine work? You bet! (I go through vacuum cleaners like there’s no tomorrow.) But, just as I cared for my children before they were able to care for themselves, all responsible pet owners must care for their pets, the same way. They have their pets neutered, shots given and yearly exams performed. Unfortunately, not all owners are responsible which is exactly why I have a menagerie of my own!

___

Today I’m asking you all to remember the words of St. Francis of Assisi, who said, “If you have men who will exclude any of God’s creatures from the shelter of pity and compassion, you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men.”  Then I am asking you all to support your local animal welfare group. If you can, pick up a bag of food the next time you go shopping and deliver it to the shelter. Drop off a roll of paper towels, some bleach or old towels you are looking to throw out. They need all of these things and more. And if you can’t do any of this, just remember “Your Daily Click” to the “The Animal Rescue Site” http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com/clickToGive/home.faces?siteId=3. Every click you make provides food for a shelter animal! Such a little thing…. 1 click…. but with such impact! Do it today! And while you’re at it, if you are able, bring some love into your house and adopt one of God’s innocents!

___

But ask the animals, and they will teach you, or the birds in the sky, and they will tell you; or speak to the earth, and it will teach you, or let the fish in the sea inform you. Which of all these does not know that the hand of the Lord has done this? In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind.

Job 12:7-10 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

