Thought For The Day 07/05/14

Standard

I Believe

Post 1210

___

http://erinsillart.com/images/subjective.jpg

___

A newspaper, as I’m sure you know, is a collection of supposedly true stories written down by writers who either saw them happen or talked to people who did.  These writers are called journalists, and like telephone operators, butchers, ballerinas, and people who clean up after horses, journalists can sometimes make mistakes. 

Lemony Snicket

http://www.quotegarden.com/media.html

___

Have you ever looked at the comments to a post you’ve made somewhere…. perhaps on a social media site that allows for interactive responses to a thread? While most of those comments may view the subject being addressed in much the same way you do, every so often you’ll run across one that makes you sit up and wonder just exactly how that person managed to come up with the conclusion they reached based on what it was you were saying. After all, all we were doing was praising the entrepreneurship of a person and suddenly we find ourselves under attack from someone we did not expect to find in disagreement with the stand we were taking.

___

Yes, words, much like life itself, is all subjective! I think that is something that validates why it is that I love writing my blog every day! It certainly ain’t for fame or fortune! By its very definition, a BLOG is a Web site that contains an online personal journal with reflections, comments, and often hyperlinks provided by the writer. Everything I write is a portrait of the world as I see it through my eyes. Reflections of my past? Often! Comments about social issues that are near and dear to my heart? You bet! A true portrait of the journey I find myself on as I travel my path in life with respect to my faith? Absolutely! I am not a reporter of facts in the strictest sense. While I have done some more commercial writing, I will never anchor a spot on CNN. What I am is a story-teller of the Word, as I believe it to exist and as it serves to guide my life’s journey!

___

Lately I have received some comments asking for some evidentiary proof of some idea or another that I’ve raised in my writings. And my answer to them, and to you, is that I have none. I write about the business of faith, which, by its very definition, is belief in something in the absence of those absolutes. And yes, like faith, “Mandyspath” is a sincere attempt to discuss and sincerely describe my relationship to God as I understand Him to exist. And yes, like faith, “Mandyspath” believes in the traditional doctrines of religion, and in doing so, I choose to speak publicly and for the record about the strength of my religious convictions. But unlike the Bible, “Mandyspath” is NOT the inerrant word of God. I do not write in black and white absolutes that can be researched extensively in an attempt to validate the conclusions I may be suggesting. All of the things I write, hovers somewhere in the thousand hues of grey that exists for me, and most probably, for most of us who live as Christians in this, the 21st century.

___

So love “Mandyspath” or hate “Mandyspath”, it is for you, and you alone, to decide the merit of what it is that I share day after day in my posts. It is up to you to decide if my conclusions are worthy of not just your consideration, but perhaps even integrating them into the way you live your life every day. But do not ask me to provide proof because all I will say to you is that you can open the Bible and explore its contents, and then decide for yourself whether you want to see my take of a particular issue of faith on any given day.

___

“I Believe”

performed by Elvis Presley

___

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.  Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them.  Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world. In the heavens God has pitched a tent for the sun.

Psalm 19:1-4 NIV 

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

