Thought For The Day 07/18/14

Standard

Like A Fine Wine?

Thought 1223

___

http://www.best-face.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/The-Aging-Face1.jpg

___

Father Time is not always a hard parent, and, though he tarries for none of his children, often lays his hand lightly upon those who have used him well; making them old men and women inexorably enough, but leaving their hearts and spirits young and in full vigour.  With such people the grey head is but the impression of the old fellow’s hand in giving them his blessing, and every wrinkle but a notch in the quiet calendar of a well-spent life. 

Charles Dickens

http://quotegarden.com/age.html

___

There is always something I have wondered about, never more than lately as I face the prospects in a few weeks of adding another revolution around the sun to my list of accomplishments! Do we really get wiser as we grow older? Now I know that I for one seem more scatter-brained these days. And I struggle to remember what I ate for breakfast unless it was something momentous, like Belgium Waffles made by the hand of my loving husband, which, by the way, the next time he makes them will be the FIRST time he made them! Yes, he and I often joke that I am becoming so forgetful that one day if he becomes annoyed at me over something or other, I am likely to find myself dropped off out in the back woods, and I won’t remember how to find my way home! Ahhhh, ain’t love grand?

___

For so many years, it was thought that much like our bodies, the brain declines with age. And yet, taking into account that there are some diseases more common to an aging population that can rob us of our cognition, studies actually have been conducted in the United Kingdom that prove that the opposite is really true!

___

Looking at tasks such as problem solving and language, the human animal performs better from middle age onward. Studies of job performance also support this claim. While response time for tasks were better among younger workers, for quality of product, older employees fared much higher! And researchers at the University of Michigan have found that despite life’s adversities, people actually are happier the older they become. With life experience we gain as we grow older, also comes wisdom and with wisdom comes happiness. It seems that even as we stumble (figuratively speaking) through the years, we somehow manage, in the process, to not just get better at living those years, but we better appreciate the rewards the experiences of those years yields! And there is one other thing to think about. The new thinking is that the human brain is not unlike the hard drive of a computer. It runs a bit slower as it ages simply because of the amount of data (both information as well as life experiences) it has stored in side of it.

___

And much like a fine wine AND the human brain, faith also becomes mellower, deeper and richer as we grow older. Yes, there are some for whom the cynicism of life also erodes the faith they hold in their hearts, but I believe the vast majority of people feel as I do. It is all of my life experiences that supports the fact that I am not the one who controls my destiny and I become not just comforted, but grateful as well, that God has taken the worry of my future from my hands.

___

As I get older, it is somehow easier to believe and act in accordance with those beliefs with a trusting heart, knowing that it is He that asks this of me. When most of us are younger, we are much more egocentric. The world and all of its delights revolves around us. But as we get older, it seems as if we are able to discover that it is we who choose to revolve around God and our faith in Him! Yes, we may feel discouraged at times. We are human, after all, with our all too human weaknesses. But it is through our lifelong experiences that we recognize that with the negatives comes the positives. And it is through this that we understand that it is God’s perfect love that can free us from our earthly and all too human fears!

___

“Is not wisdom found among the aged? Does not long life bring understanding?”

Job 12:12 NIV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

