Thought For The Day 07/29/14

Standard

F E A R

Thought 1234

___

fear

___

“There are four ways you can handle fear. You can go over it, under it, or around it. But if you are ever to put fear behind you, you must walk straight through it. Once you put fear behind you. Leave it there.”

Donna Favors

http://theboldlife.com/2011/08/101-quotes-fear/

___

Fear is perhaps the most paralyzing emotion that man experiences. Even anger energizes us, although not always in a good way. But when we experience fear, we often become sick…physically, mentally and emotionally and when this happens, it takes all we can muster to regain control of not just our emotions but, often, our lives. And what is often worse, is when we allow our fear to become so pervasive, that we lose our faith!

___

So often, we forget that sometimes the only way to overcome something that we fear, it simply to attack it and face the devil head on! We should trust that God will see us through any trial that comes our way. We simply need to put aside our human logic, and replace it with God’s truth. “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze” (Isaiah 43:1-2) When you remember this simple verse, and allow it to wash over you, you will suddenly find that fear will lose its grip on your heart, your mind and your faith! Not buying what I’m saying? Well, how about thinking about how it was that Daniel found himself alone and in a den full of lions….and he lived to tell the tale!

___

Remember how Daniel was betrayed which led him to be discovered praying to God, after King Darius had issued a decree that for one month, no one in the kingdom would be permitted to pray and pay homage to any other but him? Remember how Daniel was faced with a horrible punishment….. he was entombed with lions overnight? Since King Darius liked and respected Daniel, and he felt guilty about the punishment he had ordered, at first light he ran to the den and called out Daniel’s name. And of course, Daniel answered. You see, he was alive because his faith in God was unwavering which is why the Lord sent an angel to close up the mouths of the beasts, so that no harm would come to His good and faithful servant.

___

Now I am certain that there are few who have faith strong enough to carry them through an experience like the one Daniel faced. To be honest, I really must wonder if that degree of faith rests within me! But there is one thing that I do hold as absolute. I do know that while I might fear for my mortal life and the earthly people and things I would be leaving behind, my faith is strong enough to reassure me that I do not fear what will become of my immortal soul! That is God’s truth…. promised to us all by the gift of His son.

___

So how about giving God a chance to come though for us! All we need do is reach out to Him, hold His hand, and trust His heart to lead, protect, and preserve us each step we take through a world filled with so many things to be afraid of!

___

 “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”

Psalm 27:1 KJV

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

