Thought For The Day 07/31/14

Standard

My Cup Runneth Over

Thought 1236

___

http://realpowermaxingoutongodslove.com/Cup-runs-over.jpg

___

This is the true joy in life – being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; being a force of nature instead of a feverish selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.  

George Bernard Shaw

http://www.quotegarden.com/helping.html

___

I am lucky! I am part of a family and community of people who have more that millions of others do, worldwide! Unlike the people of Japan or Haiti, we have not lost thousands and thousands and thousands of lives, not to mention miles upon miles upon miles of property completely uninhabitable for decades to come because of the aftermath of massive earthquakes. Unlike the mothers and grandmothers of Middle Eastern countries, I DO NOT worry every time I visit my shopping mall or supermarket, that rockets will rain down on my head, snatching the very life from my being or those I love. Unlike the nations of Africa plagued by drought, I DO NOT fear seeing the tear streaked cheeks and swollen bellies of children who can not remember the last time they ate. And yet there are horrors that exist in my own backyard! I DO worry about senior citizens having to decide between spending their dwindling $$$ on food or medicine. I DO worry about a grandmother punishing a child for eating a candy bar by forcing her to run until she died. I DO worry about children sleeping in their bedroom on the floor as parents conduct drug deals just outside their closed-door.

___

Just in case you don’t understand the idea of exactly what it is, “community activism” can mean whatever it is we want it to mean!   The bottom line though, is to do SOMETHING…….ANYTHING…….to help those whose cup does not runneth over with blessings. No matter what it is that you choose, ANY form of service benefits those in your community. There are some ways I give back in my community that do not take a lot of time or money. Check my ideas out and see if any I list might just inspire you to action too!

___

Go to your local animal shelter and donate a bag of dog or cat food, cat litter, some old towels from your linen closet, or even some bleach and paper towels.

Donate a new or nearly new book to your local Salvation Army, thrift store, library, school or church.

Make a casserole and take it to an elderly neighbor or visit and share a cup of tea and chat for an hour.

Print a flyer and distribute it in your community asking your neighbors to clean out their closets. Then gather the donations and visit a charity resale center, homeless shelter or nursing home.

Go to the dollar store and stock up on crayons, coloring books, ribbon, glue, cotton balls and construction paper and deliver it to an after school program.

Walk or bicycle instead of driving when you can. You’ll feel better and decrease your carbon footprint in the world.

Make a care package for the homeless with a towel, washcloth, tooth-brush, paste, soap, new socks, juice box and package of crackers and carry it in your car to give out if the need arises.

Visit your local fire house and stop in and say THANK YOU.

Plant a tree and help mother nature clean the air we breathe.

Visit a nursing home and bring your old magazines for the residents.

Visit your local senior center and spend some time talking and helping out.

Call your elderly neighbor before heading to the store and ask if you can pick up some things for them.

Buy Girl Scout cookies or contribute to that school raffle or fund-raising campaign.

Volunteer to babysit for that single mom in your neighborhood.

Recycle, Recycle, Recycle……

Mow the yard of a neighbor the next time you mow your own lawn.

Teach a teen how to cook your culinary specialty.

Learn Spanish or sign language and volunteer as a translator through your hospital.

Pick up a backpack and stock it with pens, paper, notebook and bring it to facility that services children in need.

Beautify your neighborhood. Pick up trash. Plant some flowers. Start a community vegetable garden.

___

Always remember there is no “I” in the word VOLUNTEER! Try it just once. You may just find yourself becoming addicted. And activism is an addiction that is good for the body and soul!

___


But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him?

1 John 3:17-18 NKJV

___

Today the one person who is still with me that not just started my journey on life’s road as a human being but who also taught me the basic fundamentals of language and writing, is celebrating a milestone event. So I ask each of you to join me as I wish the very first man in my life a HAPPY 87th BIRTHDAY!

Happy Birthday Daddy!

I love you very much!

___

Mandy 2014

Copyright © 2011-2014 “MandysPath”

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

